Invite Jesus Into Your Heart? Or Repent and Trust?

Standard

On my recent road trip I caught a good hour of a show called “Wretched” on AFR (American Family Radio).  You can check it out at www.wretchedradio.com.  Todd Friel  played this clip:

As the story played Todd, commented.  One comment really stood out to me…he basically said (wish I could just find a clip of it with his comments) that since when do “we invite Jesus into our hearts”?  Since when is this the path to salvation?  The Bible teaches, “Repent and trust Jesus for your salvation”.   What a good point.  We have watered down the gospel to “just invite Jesus into your heart”.  While Peter preached in Acts 2 (the original salvation message) to “Repent and be baptized…”

I found the clip to be pretty sad.  After all, they are really laughing it up at the expense of Christianity.  And the guy doing the interviewing is a Christian, he seems to think it is hilarious.

Also, I would like to tell Mark Ruffalo…not all those other kids were faking it.

10 thoughts on “Invite Jesus Into Your Heart? Or Repent and Trust?

  1. Paul

    I cringe everytime I hear some bucket mouth on the radio, TV or even in church telling someone to

    invite Jesus into our hearts

    as it is far from biblical.

    Bravo for a timeless truth.

  2. I am with Mark Ruffalo, on this one. I am an Evangelical Christian and I subscribe whole-heartedly to the belief that Jesus Christ’s death alone atoned for my sins. However, I read nowhere in the bible where people “fell backward” or were “slain in the Spirit” upon confession of their belief in the work of Christ on the cross.

    As a matter of fact, when disciples would pray for folks in the NT, Scripture says (if they fell) that they fell face down in repentance (more along the lines of what a person would do when they *realize* what Christ has done for them and how unworthy they were to receive such a gift and accept it).

    Being “slain in the Spirit” seems to be a construct of later years, probably more along the lines of the first few Pentecostal revivals in the late 19th century and the early 20th century (2000 years later), that we’ve carried into today as if it is, in and of itself, an absolute truth of God.

    Unfortunately, GroupThink and crowd psychology affect both Christians and cult followers the same: when you see what happens to someone else—just like Mark Ruffalo—you feel compelled to do the same because of conscious peer pressure or a subconscious need for acceptance.

    So, because the pressure can be at a sub-conscious level, many of the kids he mentioned may have “meant” it, but I would not be quick to describe the physical response as being 100% truthfully Holy Spirit.

  3. Hi Frank,

    I’m not a “faller” myself but one I simply cannot question the workings of the Holy Spirit. The Bible doesn’t say alot about alot of things. From what I can tell, the Bible doesn’t mention Baptism until John the Baptist comes along teaching it. Who ever heard of speaking in tongues until Acts 2? The Holy Spirit is a beautiful mystery. Just because the Bible doesn’t speak of people falling down doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen under the influence of the Holy Spirit.

  4. One more thing…Mark Ruffalo may be cool, he may be a good actor but clearly he is NOT a believer. Why would you agree with him about anything? He doesn’t know our Jesus.

    • I certainly don’t mean to start an argument on cessationism vs. continuationism, nor am I intending to question *true* workings of the Holy Spirit. I believe God has, and still continues, to work in mysterious ways.

      However, there must be a litmus test on whether or not the actions of an individual who is claiming that the actions are a result of the Holy Spirit is espousing truth or heresy. In other words, “falling down”, as it is somewhat innocuous, may be something that you choose not to question, and, for the most part, it doesn’t always hurt people involved. For instance, if the Holy Spirit is causing people to kick other people in the face (true story), or if you measure someone’s “faith” or “holiness” by their alleged manifestations of the Holy Spirit, I think that crosses the line. God commanded us to test spirits and teachings—not to accept everything that comes our way without Scriptural backing. If the item in question is not explicitly in Scripture, the actions and how they affect people and/or the body of Christ certainly can be measured against other, Scriptural elements.

      Furthermore, I agree with Mark Ruffalo in that, from any rational person’s perspective, the only thing non-believers will see is chaos. Compare his interpretation with what Paul says in 1 Corinthians 14:26-33, and in 1 Corinthians 14:23 it’s even more specific to unbelievers.

      I am just cautiously skeptical as to what I accept into my life as God’s truth when it doesn’t line up with Scripture (explicitly or implicitly), and I urge all believers to measure spirits and teachers alike as God commands us in 1 Thessalonians 5:20-21 and 1 John 4:1-6.

      I like this discussion. It’s making me think and is challenging me, which is productive. If you feel it is not productive for you, just let me know—again, I’m not hear to argue, only to edify and mutually sharpen iron. :)

  5. Paul

    Unfortunately, GroupThink and crowd psychology affect both Christians and cult followers the same: when you see what happens to someone else—just like Mark Ruffalo—you feel compelled to do the same because of conscious peer pressure or a subconscious need for acceptance.

    My issue with this is when someone prays for you and they get all emotional, then they expect a “courtesy drop” as some sort of token of appreciation for their having prayed. Was in Pensecola Brownsville Revival back in the 90′s and this scrawny, little gal literally yelled at me and came dangerously close to cussing (not just my impression, but that of others around me afterward) for not dropping. One of the Brownsville leaders had to come over and get her under control. Something there went a wee bit too far with that one.

    PS. I don’t have a clue who Mark Ruffalo is

  6. REPENT AND TRUST IS THE KEY,THOSE WHO SAYS THE BIBLE IS JUST BOOK OR BIBLE SAYS VERY LITTLE DO NOT KNOW GOD YOU MUST BE BORN AGAIN FULLLLL STOPPPPP.YOU DO NOT KNOW GOD PERSONALLY.

Leave a Reply

