Where I get my Sense of Humor

Standard

As I mentioned a few days ago, we had a death in our family.  One of my cousins, only a year older than me passed away. My parents asked if I wanted to go to the funeral.  No one ever really wants to go to a funeral but I went.  Strange thing is, in the past few years, around the holidays there has been a death in the family.  This is family we do not see often because we are a large German-Czech family that is spread out all over the place.  One of the most bittersweet deaths we had in our family was when my grandma passed away a few years ago.  It was sad because it was our beloved grandma but afterward the family spent time together as we shared and laughed at “grandma” stories…not because she was crazy either but because she was really funny but not crazy funny, she was dry funny.  When you were around grandma, you had to pay attention.  I’m not like that…I’m pretty goofy.

The boy and I rode down to south Texas with my parents.  It isn’t long trip, maybe an hour and half from where we live.  On the trip down we had this conversation.  My dad has been dabbling in learning Spanish for years.  He works with some Hispanic guys and they have taught him a few words here and there.  I love that my dad, who is now in his 60s is still learning new things but Texas Spanish and real Spanish are two different things.  He has been asking some of us if we would be interested in buying Rosetta Stone with him because it is quiet costly.  So far, no one has taken him up on his offer.  The Hubs has been trying to teach me Spanish forever because ultimately we would love for our kids to be bilingual as they have a grandmother who is from Mexico. I think we should just get her to come live with us and speak Spanish to the ninos (see, I know some Spanish).  Dad tells me that he bought a “Learn Spanish” program and I ask him if it is Rosetta.  He responds, “No”.  So just to gauge what kind of knock off program he got himself into, I ask him how much it cost.  He says, “Nine-ninety-five”.  Just for clarity…$9.95.  Rosetta stone cost over $200 ON SALE.  Naturally, I laughed at him and responded with “Wow”.  He started telling me about it and then he says that he got a good deal on it.  So I asked what the original price was and He told me, “Nineteen-ninety-five”.  Woo-hoo.  I told him to let me know how that works for him.

Another little fact about my dad is he has some hearing loss.  His mom let him join the Airforce when he was 17 years old.  They put him guarding airplanes during the Vietnam war.  After a few years around airplanes his hearing was never quiet the same.

If you aren’t facing him when you talk to him, he probably will not hear you.

Throughout the day, we were repeating ourselves to my dad and my mom kept telling people, “He didn’t hear you” which I have begun to notice is something she is saying quiet often.  It reminds me of my mam-maw and pap-paw but don’t tell my mom.

On the return trip home, I was talking to my dad and again, he didn’t hear me.  We were in the car, not the truck or the big SUV I drive but a midsize car.

After thinking about this for a few minutes, I said, “Dad, I think I know what language you nee to learn.  You are going to need this…”

He said, “What?” and waited for my response.

I said, “Sign language.”  and I laughed and laughed.

Without missing a beat, he said, “I know some sign language. But your son is in the car so I’m not going to use it.”

This really made me laugh….

His hearing may not be all that it should be but his mind is still quick.

And by the way, he doesn’t actually use the sign language he was speaking of….he was just kidding around with me.

 

Leave a Reply

