The “New Evangelism”

Standard

I would like to take a poll (someone call the Barna Group) on how many believers share their faith or evangelize and what that “evangelism” means today.

Barna did do this study.

The other poll I’d like to take is “Did you get saved through Facebook?”

Seriously. Maybe three people would respond “affirmative” to this question.

These days, many of us (I’m including myself in this statement) feel that if we share inspirational quotes or scriptures or a link to our church we are “evangelistic”.

This is from Websters:

Definition of EVANGELISM

1:  the winning or revival of personal commitments to Christ
2:  militant or crusading zeal
I do not know of anyone who has been won to Jesus Christ from my Facebook posts.  Unfortunately.  A few people may have visited my church but actual salvations…..not so much.
Churches in this modern age do need to have a social media presence.  But churches cannot rely solely on Facebook to reach the lost.
Hang in here with me…I’m preaching to myself.  I’ve been considering volunteering for a child advocacy organization but I don’t really want to go into the homes of strangers who have had their children removed from their custody…why?  because it could be dangerous, it is probably dirty and it will definitely be sad.   Yes, all my mission-minded friends are saying to themselves, “She needs to go on a missions trip and she will ‘get over’ that…”  Sure that’s true.  I believe that missions starts at home.  Let’s not get into that discussion.  I get a little fired up when folks have to leave home to win a soul when all we have to do is drive out to east Kyle to see some of the saddest mobile home communities around and we sure aren’t going door-to-door out there.  Just sayin’.  Please understand, where I’m going here.  Most likely, I am not going to reach east Kyle mobile-home residence with my cute post on Facebook.  It’s unlikely.
My first point is Facebook cannot be our sole method of evangelizing.  I’m not certain it is much of an evangelism tool at all.  It’s more of a “get ‘em in the door” tool.
My second point is…and I know this may not go over well… Inviting someone to church is not evangelism.  It’s always easier to invite someone to my church than it is to talk to them about God.  I really have little problem bringing “God” into a conversation, where I start to sweat is talking about Jesus.  Hey, I’m being transparent here.  Most people believe there is a God.  Most people are open to “God” but Jesus…well, He may be offensive. Jesus…He’s the real deal.  He’s the one.  He is everything.

If we are going to spread the Gospel message we must begin to share Jesus with real life people.

We have been talking about sharing the gospel in our Lifegroups.  It’s not that complicated.  , Revelation 12:11 says, “And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony, and they did not love their lives to the death.”   You do not have to be a Biblical expert you just have to know Jesus for yourself and share what He has done for you. 2 Corinthians 3:3 says it this way,”Clearly, you are a letter from Christ…This ‘letter’ is written not with pen and ink, but with the Spirit of the living God. It is carved not on tablets of stone, but on human hearts.”  Your “God story” is being written. The story is useless unless you share what God has done and is doing in your life.

So what’s the challenge?  Please comment if you actually do this.  Write down what Jesus means to you and what He has done in your life.  You probably have many testimonies of what God has done in your life.  I know I do.  I have testimonies I share with singles, testimonies about financial issues, testimonies about adoption, etc.  Jesus has been incredibly…looking for a good word…wonderful in my life.

I would love to hear some of your testimonies.  Please write them in the comments.  If you write them down, it gives you a plan so when you do come face to face with someone who needs Jesus, you have the words to speak.

2 thoughts on “The “New Evangelism”

  1. Casey, I have personally witnessed through social media/internet connections (Facebook, email, etc).

    Have I ever seen anybody commit to following Christ from those avenues? No.

    Have I clearly laid out the gospel and offered them a chance to repent? Yes.

    Have I felt clearly led to evangelize over the internet? Definitely.

    Is this my preferred / default method of evangelism? Of course not.

    I think the epidemic is that Christians think they are excused from personal, face-to-face evangelism if they “Repost this in 120 seconds or you don’t really love God/aren’t a Christian/aren’t scared of how people will react.”

    We need to consider that most of Jesus’s evangelism methods were different each time because he was, frankly, led by the Spirit. To lock ourselves into a method (Facebook shares, for example) and excuse ourselves from others (door-to-door, friendship evangelism, street evangelism, charity/serving the less fortunate) is to deny the Holy Spirit complete sovereignty over our lives.

    But that’s just my understanding of what it means to make disciples–giving God unrestricted access to our lives to shape other people’s lives.

Leave a Reply

