Healing

Standard

When does healing come?  Are there any spiritual antibiotics out there?  I think I need some spiritual amoxicillian or something.  I’ve been on bedrest (so to speak – I’ve been going to church but not really doing anything as far as ministry goes).  I’ve been eating and drinking regularly (reading my Bible and praying and worshipping).  Then another blow comes…another bout of something. 

We are in transition right now to a new church.  We have been going there for a few months and feel it is a healthy church.  We have been planning on making the total transition by the end of the year.  

There is no good way to leave one church and go to another.  We let the church where we were attending know that we are going…and they pretty much slammed the door in our faces.  Our decision offended them.  I can only think that there must have been an existing wound.  We couldn’t have been the cause of such injury.

I am so tired of “friendly fire” in Christian circles.  It is disappointing.  It is disheartening.  It makes me feel hopeless…like there is no Holy Spirit left in the world.  Where are the fruits of the Holy Spirit??  Where is the love, the joy, the peace, the patients, the faith, the kindness, the gentleness, the longsuffering?  Someone must make a decision to stop firing.  Why are we making other Christians the “enemy”?  How can we stop the cycle?  How can we identify the real enemy?

Proverbs 10:12
Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all sins.

Thinking of all of this takes me back to the prayer about having wisdom.  God please help us to have wisdom in this situation.  Please help us not to be double-minded in anyway but help us to reflect Jesus Christ and His heart and His actions.  In Jesus name, Amen…

You see the problem is we have to think like Jesus.  Let’s be real.  What happened hurt us.  Jesus cried until he wept blood because of his hurt. (What He endured was much greater than this)  It’s okay to hurt – that’s normal; it means we are  human.  Jesus knew that Judas was going to betray Him.  He didn’t kick Judas out.  Jesus loved Judas THROUGH the whole situation.  Jesus’ love didn’t change.  Jesus didn’t stop extending grace to Judas.  Jesus did warned him.  Jesus continued to LOVE Judas.  Why is it so hard for us?  Why do our emotions drive us and define us? 

It may take a little while to recover from this latest blow.  Friends have been lost.  People who have been a part of our lives are lost to us.  We are deeply saddened; heartbroken.  But may God help us to be Christ followers and Kingdom builders though it all.

7 thoughts on “Healing

  1. Cindy Beall

    I feel your pain, friend. I am sorry you are going through this. Why can’t the church be the church? Why can’t we have Kingdom vision? I know, I know, I’m preachin’ to the choir.

  2. Cindy, you are the second person to say today that you are “preaching to the chior” to me. 🙂

    There was a time when churches were hospitals and the wounded and hurting went there and met the Healer.

  3. touchofglory

    My family and I just went through a similar transition. We left my home church of 30 years (my husband joined there when we married 8 years ago). We were SS teachers, my parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins all attend there. But some things took place that we simply couldn’t support, and we felt led to visit elsewhere. If God tells you that it’s time to move, then it’s time. We have had lots of opposition to our move as well, but we know we are where God wants us to be. We joined our new church about a month ago, and everything has felt so right since then. I’ll be praying for you – I know the hurt that comes when others Christians aim their “fire” at you. God Bless! Melissa H.

  4. micey

    i’m fortunate to be in a church with solid preaching so far, however, there was recent gossip that left me reeling and wondering if my church is heading south. thankfully, the issue was resolved, but yeah, i’m getting tired of hearing Christians tearing each other down instead of building each other up…

  5. “Why do our emotions drive us and define us?” I just wrote something on this last night.

    I think we put too much emphasis on the church (the building) I think we expect that those within the walls are to be perfect. But we DO shoot our wounded. Often times the ones we ourselves have inflicted the pain on. The real Church is His entire body of believers. But something happens to us when we get comfortable in the sanctuary and the halls of the building we have given money for. It’s sad. It’s flesh. That’s what makes us so different from Christ. We are too full of ourselves and infected by our flesh. We are selfish by nature. We have to make a conscience decision each day to think like Christ. We have to transform our minds by the way we think (Rom 12:2) It’s uncomfortable and involves growing pains. Which is why so many are so content to stay where they are. I say grow. Bloom in your desert. He reveal beauty in your new path. And healing.

  6. Sorry, I left this comment on the wrong posting. It should have been here…I’ve never been real fond of people who predicate their friendship on whether or not they go to the same church as me. I’ve had some great friends that have come and gone from our church. But,just because they leave, I don’t stop being their friend. Sadly, if your “friends” acted that way when you told them you were leaving, I have to question their depth as a Christian. They first called the early church Christians at Antioch. Was it because they allowed a former persecuter named Paul to preach for them? Hmmm, one does wonder how more advanced our churches would be if we broke down the barriers. Stop being so EXclusive and more INclusive. I’m not saying drop truth to embrace the masses, but I am saying we MUST love one another as Christ loves us. Way to go CB for having the courage to change.

  7. I firmly think that you need to allow Jesus to take you to His green pastures and look deep in His eyes while lying in the grass with Him and realize that He has not changed, even if everyone else has. He loves you and He wants you walk with Him, love Him then see things from His perspective. Next you’ll be laughing, and drinking a glass of my lemonade with me. Thanks for visiting my blog. fullness.wordpress.com is all about a healing I experienced from the very thing you’ve talked about. Now I Live Life to the Fullest!!!!
    God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

