Merry Christmas

Standard

Hi all, I wanted to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a Blessed New year.

 We kicked off the holidays with my sister Jenny coming into town.  We’ve been running around everywhere. 

I’ve stressed myself trying to purchase gifts for everyone.  I usually love giving gifts but this year (1st year married) I have just gotten stressed.  I love finding the “perfect gift” for family members but this year, it seemed mediocre…maybe I waited too long to get started on my shopping.  Maybe I’ve been trying too hard.

The kids are easy to buy for…I bought and bought and bought for them. It’s the adults that are killers. My dad, bless his heart, just goes out and buys whatever he wants so when it comes to gift time, there is nothing really for us to buy him.  It’s so frustrating.

Then we are going out to dinner with family and friends and it all adds up.  When did Christmas get so complicated?  All I want to do is stay home, light a fire in the fireplace and watch some good movies maybe bakes some cookies… 

Dennis and I are going to have to come up with some  Christmas traditions for our family.  Hopefully, we will keep things simple.

5 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. Cindy Beall

    I hope you do get to do some vegging out for your first Christmas. Being around family is so much fun but so is laying on the couch all day in your pajamas 🙂

  2. touchofglory

    When we first married, I had to get used to running all over the place seeing my family and his. Now, we have a 5 year old and a 3 year old, and sometimes it seems like the running is even worse because everyone wants to see them. This year, however, we are missing four grandparents who have died within the last year and a half. The new Christmas Day tradition is my dad’s family coming to my house. We still have lots of running to do (it started for us on Saturday night), but I guess in a few years when my kids are older and out of the house I’ll miss these days!

  3. Merry Christmas to you!
    I too hope you get to have some “down time” on Christmas and just chill and also reflect on Jesus and His amazing meaning to our lives.

    Kaysie

  4. One of the best things we did shorty after we were married was establish our very own traditions…not forgoing all others with the rest of the family – but making sure there was something that we called our own. It made the rest of the stuff easier to bear.

    Hope you had a fabulous Christmas though through it all! What did you end up getting your Dad???

  5. Casey's Dad

    In enjoyed my Christmas despite having a cold and not feeling well. I enjoyed having my three daughters and sons-in law and 2 grandsons in our home. Even with it becoming a war zone, hurricane , tornado disaster area we survived! And I do like the gift Casey and Dennis gave me. and will use it! Happy new Year to all and God’s blessings to each of you!

    🙂 Laddie

Leave a Reply

