Words

Standard

I work as a glorified technical writer…I am in fact a writer.  I love words; written and spoken.

A couple of weeks ago I was talking to a writer friend I know and he made the statement that the English language is evolving.  He believes that text messaging is going to change the way we write and speak.

This got me to thinking….hmm.

Dennis and often make up “games” for lack of a better word.  Sometimes just to crack each other up (see the Gnome post).  We were driving around looking at Christmas lights on Christmas Eve with my sister, bro-in-law and nephew and we started a discussion about words that we don’t use any more.

So we have been developing a list of words that are no longer commonly used…

Hearth

fortnight

fourscore

ingenuity

ingenious

You get the picture.  We thought of a long list of words (of course,  I can not remember all of them now since they are not commonly used.)

Can you think of any?

8 thoughts on “Words

  1. Wickle, Your post about reports made me think. 😀

    About how we no longer use descriptive terms. We use words like “awesome” and “cool”. We no longer paint a picture with our words. In the past reports had to describe the scene because some news shows were broadcast on radio and tv. Now reporters (on the radio) just say, “Visit this website for more info”.

  2. judydean

    Mark and I came across one a couple of days ago…ajar.
    I had left the front door open a little for him and then he came through the garage. I asked him to close the front door because it was ajar.

  3. Whence
    Whom (one of my pet peeves)
    Amidst

    … and I think you’re right. I don’t have cable, and get no channels on my TV. I read news online and listen to the radio, and I’m tired of every story either being a video or being linked to something from YouTube. How about a description? Words? Anything?

  4. Nefarious … I think I’m the only person left who uses it, and even at that, usually only in sarcasm.

    Dastardly … pretty much the same thing. (I think Snidley Whiplash of the old Dudley Dooright cartoons was dastardly.)

Leave a Reply

