Jesus Camp

Standard

Has anyone heard about this documentary?  It was on A&E a few nights ago.  We watched the whole thing.  I think A&E had an agenda in airing the program especially so close to the primaries.  Maybe to demonstrate that Christians have an agenda.   (Hey, why shouldn’t Christians have an agenda?  Every other interest group out there has an agenda; a plan.  There is nothing wrong with having a plan and implementing said plan.  If the NRA sends a lobbyist to Washington that’s okay but Christians shouldn’t lobby for what they believe in??  This is one topic that raises my ire – another word that isn’t used very often anymore).

Before I write any farther I want to acknowledge that I understand in any type of documentary, things are left out.  I am sure there were some positive things about Christianity that hit the cutting floor.  I am also certain that the film makers had an agenda of their own.  With that in mind…precede.

 There were some things in the documentary that I found disturbing.  I wish the woman youth pastor had used a little more wisdom when talking to the radio commentator.  Christians have every right to teach their children what they believe about God.  And she had a very good point that in other countries they are training their from a young age for holy wars.  But she came off sounding a little ignorant on the radio.

This reminds me of a Jeff Foxworthy bit.  He says in the south they always seem to find the “brightest among  us” to put on tv.  You know the woman with curlers in her hair saying, “The tornado went right over our trailer.  We could have dead or worse.  All I could think was Charlene has my Tupperware dish”.  The media always seems to find the “brightest” among the Christians too…that’s just a whole other post.

What I found disturbing was the children talking about things (deep doctrinal issues)  that I am certain they do not understand; things I barely have a grasp on.  They are kids…they need the fundamentals; Jesus love you, Jesus took your place and died on the cross for you, He rose from the dead.    They need to be taught the Word; like John 3:16 and Proverbs 3:5-6.  At the camp the children were told they had all this sin and they needed to repent.   (How much sin can an 9 year old have??)  I felt like they were teaching the children that if they have one “bad” thought they are a sinner and not saved.  One child admitted he had doubts about the gospel, the whole room became silent, adults and children just looked at him like he was crazy.  It was one of the most authentic moments in the film.  I wanted to sit down with that child and ask him, “What questions do you have?  What part of this do you not understand?”.   They just all looked at him like he was a heretic. 

Did anyone else watch this documentary?  If so any comments or thoughts? 

 I just read a pretty good blog on the film…much more detailed than this one.

http://christiansbehaving.wordpress.com/2007/12/31/jesus-camp-on-ae/

9 thoughts on “Jesus Camp

  1. maryblu

    “And she had a very good point that in other countries they are training their from a young age for holy wars. But she came off sounding a little ignorant on the radio.”

    Two wrongs don’t make a right. IMHO this is a form of child abuse. What I see is not the teachings of any God or spirituality, or how to live a Christian life. They are being trained as weapons in a war.

  2. Nic

    I haven’t seen all of it, but I felt the whole thing wasn’t honest. I felt That they were trying to make “Christians” look goofy for what they believe.

    Every summer camp / church camp I’ve been too is nothing like that. Your right about having an agenda, and the idea that if you question God, you must not believe.

    It was not a flattering movie.

  3. I think you answered your own question in a way since you realize that these documentaries can be skewed.

    On the other hand, as a charismatic, I will be the first to admit how dogmatic and polarizing many of us can be, especially if we’re not careful to love others. People get to see this real well on this documentary.

    As far as the kids are concerned, they are just as indoctrinated in these prayer activities as the “normal” kids of our culture are indoctrinated in whatever TV, media, and technology throws at them. The kids can be pretty dogmatic too. But the lady seemed to me in need of some inner healing, just like the rest of us.

    Overall, I think that the culture is so different now that they can’t abide what was normal 60 years ago – the idea that you shouldn’t pray for your leaders, or that it is wrong to have an intense, convicting prayer meeting is silly. This sort of thing was commonplace in America’s history from the beginning. The founder of Princeton is known for his sermon “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God”… CBB

  4. I didn’t see it but my hubby watched part of it and then turned it off when he had enough of their biased journalism and attempts at slandering God’s people.

  5. “What I found disturbing was the children talking about things (deep doctrinal issues) that I am certain they do not understand; things I barely have a grasp on. They are kids…they need the fundamentals; Jesus love you, Jesus took your place and died on the cross for you, He rose from the dead. They need to be taught the Word; like John 3:16 and Proverbs 3:5-6.”

    Your first paragraph answers this question. You weren’t shown what happened before or after what you saw on the screen. I was there–these are kids who have all learned the fundamentals. The filmmakers taped over 360 hours of material. You got the condensed version! Go to jesuscampersdotcom to see more about “mulletboy’s” family and ministry.

    Same thing goes for Andrew, the boy who confessed to having doubts. The filmmakers edited the film to make it look like the crowd was silent and didn’t know what to say. Actually, after he spoke, we went into a time of prayer.

  6. CoolMom9,

    I would ask those involved…who gave these guys permission to document the camp? We (Christians) already are aware that the very liberal media is not trying to cast Christians in a positive light. Therefore, is it wise to allow them to film a documentary?? I don’t think so.

    The thought that all press is good press is simply not valid. There is such a thing as “bad press”.

Leave a Reply

