From glory to glory…

Standard

Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.

2 Corinthians 3:17-18

**Disclaimer:  I am writing this as I work through my thoughts on it.  Hopefully, it will make sense to the reader.  If not, as they say in Alabama, “Eat the meat, and throw out the bones”. (Take away from it what speaks to you and disregard the rest of it – for those non-southerners.**

 I think about going from “glory to glory” as the growth process we go through as Christians.  If God changed us “whap” all at once, most of us would have some type of identity crisis.  As it is, He has takes us through processes, which the Bible compares to a refining process (like gold being refined).  Many times we must be convinced that a part of us isn’t what our creator intended, then we begin to go in the direction of the change.  Going with the flow verses fighting the current, especially when the current is God, is not only desirable but much easier.

I’ve been reading the Message Bible lately.  It’s different.  I love the book of John.  John the Beloved became John the Revelator.  How often do we hear people saying they want new revelation?  To get revelation, you must first become His beloved; one of Jesus’ best friends.  You must seek His heart in order to hear His secrets.  So I’ve been reading John again.  In the 3rd chapter Jesus is talking to Nicodemus.  As the conversation ensues, Jesus says to him, “Unless a person submits to this original creation—the ‘wind-hovering-over-the-water’ creation, the invisible moving the visible, a baptism into a new life—it’s not possible to enter God’s kingdom.”  In other words, to enter the Kingdom, we must return to our creator. 

After submitting to our Creator, the next step is the 4th Chapter of John.  I love the wording of this.  It’s beautiful.  Jesus is speaking to the woman at the well.  He tells her, “It’s who you are and the way you live that count before God. Your worship must engage your spirit in the pursuit of truth. That’s the kind of people the Father is out looking for: those who are simply and honestly themselves before him in their worship. God is sheer being itself—Spirit. Those who worship him must do it out of their very being, their spirits, their true selves, in adoration.”  We must become worshippers who worship Him in spirit and in truth; authentically.

Getting to the place of worshipping God with our very beings, our spirits can be quiet challenging.  I think of it sometimes like an onion.  Some layers may need to be peeled off to get to the edible part.  Maybe that is “glory to glory”.  Maybe the peeling away of our layers until our true self is revealed is what leads us to new levels of glory. 

In my experience, I’ve always thought of going to “glory to glory” as a breaking through process going to a new level.  What we must break through is like a clear membrane, almost like plastic wrap.  It can be hard to break through.  I have noticed that each time I go to a new level, I begin to feel stagnate where I am.  I begin to feel a holy discontent with the level I am on.  I would love to say I have always acted upon these feelings in an appropriate way but there have been seasons in my life when I felt intensely frustrated with where I was and were I was going.  That is one of those things God has had to work out of me.  Holy discontent is good but irritated frustration, not so good. 

I’ve head to learn not to based my relationship with God on how I “feel” about it.  Usually, when a spiritual season change or a new level is about to come, I do not feel God as strongly as I once did.  I think I know why this happens.  As people we acclimate.  We acclimate to the Holy Spirit.  We get used to the level we are on and in order to “feel” the effects the Holy Spirit in our lives must increase.

Our pastor preached a sermon about capacity.  He had a great demonstration.  He had a communion cup,  a regular glass and a “Big Gulp” cup.  The Word says that God’s plan is to bless us to over flowing.  Each one of those containers can be filled to overflowing.  But they do not all hold the same amount.  Going from “glory to glory” is about increasing our capacity.  When you increase your capacity for God, you change; you are transformed.  God’s Spirit is the same, you are just bigger so while you are in a state of getting filled back up to overflowing, you may “feel” different, even a little empty. 

That’s why salvation and faith aren’t based on “feelings”.   If they were, I would think for at least one week out of the month that I wasn’t saved. 

So when you begin to feel that “empty” feeling, ask yourself “Am I distant from God?  Is God distant from me? Or is my capacity about to change?”. 

4 thoughts on “From glory to glory…

  1. lorawilliams08

    We’ll said cbgrace i love this statement in order to hear the secrets of God we must seek his heart. Amen
    intimacy is what God desires most.

  2. I love where you went with this! I think each time a layer of “flesh’ is peeled away it does reveal something of glory. Anytime there becomes less of me, there becomes more of Him..closer to glory. Glory to glory to glory and so on… You painted a great picture of this! Great thoughts!

  3. Beautifully said, and it rings true to my own life. All around me lately I keep hearing how growing in God is a process, and more than ever I know it’s true. I like what He’s doing in me, but more importantly, I like the way He’s doing it. I couldn’t always say that.

    You said rightly when you wrote that the process is more like breaking through a clear membrane. What’s beneath that membrane may look to others the same as it did before, but truly it’s softer and purer than it was a millimeter ago.

Leave a Reply

