2008 Goals

Standard

This weekend I attended a Christian Writers group in Austin; the Kingdom Writers.  It was great. 

Oddly enough, I am not very comfortable sharing, especially reading my writing with others.  This group is good for me.  It challenges my comfort zone.  When I started this blog, I wasn’t sure anyone would want to read what I had to write.  I’ve had somewhere around 6000 hits!  (Thanks everyone)

At the end of the meeting, they asked us to set a goal for this year.  Dennis and I have been working on some ideas for writing a book on Leadership for ages 18 to 25…you might be familiar with that age…the age of “knowing”.  We feel strongly that this age group needs mentors and strong voices molding them into the leaders they should and could be.  Unfortunately, it can be one of the most difficult age gorups to mentor.  So I explained the project to the group and our hope to complete the book (have it at the publisher) by the end of the year.  There was a young lady in the meeting who was so excited as I explained the premise of the book. She fell into that age group and she told me this book is desperately needed.  This encouraged me.  Recently, I had discussed with Dennis how this book might differ from other leadership books that exist in the market place.  We didn’t have an answer.

The Leadership book is our goal.  I am writing it down.  The Bible says to write the vision down and make it clear. 

I would also like to write some fiction. I wrote a few pages several nights ago which were “okay”.  Fiction requires several revisions.  I read the pages to Dennis.  The next night he asked for the next installment…the story actually captured his attention.  I guess I better get to work!!

Leave a Reply

