Scriptures for Singles

Standard

Over the years of being single, I collected some several scriptures that I would read/pray. 

Isaiah 55:11 says that God’s word shall not return void but it shall prosper in the thing for which it is sent (that’s the abbreviated version).  God’s word is as effective for prayer as it is for knowing God.  There are times and seasons in our life when we must remind ourselves and God (not that he forgets) what He said; remind Him of His promises.

Whether married or single, as people we often misunderstand God.  We have a flawed view of Him.  God is not “out to get us”.  He is not waiting for us to make a mistake so He can pitch us into hell.  In general (meaning His overall personality) is not angry.  He is not doing things to you to frustrate you or cause you grief.  Guess what?  Here is some Good News!  God loves you and wants you to be happy.  He came to give you abundant life…not lame life.  Having said this, God is not going to send you a loser to date/marry.  He isn’t going to say, “Because of all the things you’ve done (sins), this is the best I can do for you.”  God isn’t like that.  He has good things for you.  These good things are based on how Good He is, not how good you are.  You just have to be at the right place at the right time, doing what He is telling you to do. Do not worry about this too much, if you love Him and live your life for Him, He will help you be where you are suppose to be. 

The following are scriptures I read and prayed over the years.  These scriptures encouraged me and helped me stay focused (yes, I still made mistakes and did some things that I regret, but God still loves me and He still lead me into the abundant future He has planned for me). 

Ladies, you can also read Isaiah 54. 

You open Your hand
         And satisfy the desire of every living thing.

Psalm 145:16

If you desire to be married, if it in your deepest of hearts you desire a mate, then God will satisfy that desire.

Nevertheless, because of sexual immorality, let each man have his own wife, and let each woman have her own husband.

I Corinthian 7:2

 Search from the book of the LORD, and read:
      Not one of these shall fail;
      Not one shall lack her mate.
      For My mouth has commanded it, and His Spirit has gathered them.

Isaiah 34:16

The LORD will perfect that which concerns me;
         Your mercy, O LORD, endures forever;
         Do not forsake the works of Your hands.

Psalm 138:8

Bring my soul out of prison,
         That I may praise Your name;
         The righteous shall surround me,
         For You shall deal bountifully with me.

Psalm 142:7

35 thoughts on “Scriptures for Singles

  1. thanks for posting this. so many times we say how “satisfaction in being single” and “hoping in God in your singleness” are scriptural…but few actuall show where some of these scriptures are.

    you can’t go wrong quoting scripture (when done in context at least…lol)

  2. Hi Emily, I definately feel strongly for single people. :D I think people who marry when they are very young (under 25) have a difficulty relating to what singles face these days. In any case, thank you for your comment.

    • Kate Johnston

      I feel the same way! My sister in law is younger than me and married at 22. My mother and sister also married at 22, I am 26 and not even dating. I get very discouraged at times but just have to get lost in the Word. Thank you for this post! God bless you.

      Kate

      • cmtjess

        Well just to comment. I am 28 still pure and fighting the good FIGHT of faith. And yes it is a fight.. Sometimes I feel I am the only one left still holding on.. Keep fighting
        God is faithful…
        And it IS POSSIBLE TO OVERCOME. I am living proof

      • Hang in there girl! When I was around 32 (yikes), I had a Word and it was basically, “God has someone for you but He is still working on Him. Do you want him before God is finished with him??” My response was a resounding “No”. God’s timing is perfect and beautiful. Wait on Him, it will be a wonderful love story.

  3. yes, he satisfies the desires of every living things…

    Jesus say that he supply for lil birds, how much more for us!…WOW…this texts you post bless me real…yep being sigle is time we sigle out what God intend for us…bless yoh all

  4. Linda Autrey

    Love your blog, CBGrace! I didn’t get married until I was 34, and I definitely feel that God had to bring me to a certain place in my life where I completely trusted Him before He could bless me with my wonderful husband. Being single was sometimes difficult and my married friends who often gifted me with books about how great it was to be single were often not as helpful as they thought they were– LOL!

  5. I just hated when married people would say things like…”You should be thankful you are single…” Or “Maybe God plans for you to be single…” or “Right now is the best time of your life…” I was fine being single. Sometimes I would get lonely but overall, I had fun and did some things I really wanted to do (like have a job that kept me on the road for 75 to 80 % of the time…really not “do-able” when you are married).

  6. Salome Brown

    Thanks for this article. I was 48 years old before I was blessed with a husband. It is never too late to be blessed of the Lord. I have always desire a husband, and God knew. I have served as Single Ministry Director in my Local Church for over 8years. I served the Lord and the Ministry faithfully and the Lord blessed me. Not only has he blessed me, but he has also blessed the young lady who was my assitant,, she will be getting married in June of this year. Every day I stand in awe of God and his goodness. I therefore encourage all the single ladies in the faith, to trust God because he cares for you. There were times I wonder when or even if it would happen, but I kept the faith. There were times that I had to encourage myself and remind the Lord of his promise towards me. He came through and he came right in time. He knew what I needed at age 48yrs. He knew what you need at age 25yrs, 30yrs, 31………If you trust him, seek him, be obedient to his words, be faithful in your service, he will provide. One of the best thing about being married now, is having my husband beside me in church, encouraging me in the faith, and vice versa. We are the apple of his eyes, he loves us with a perfect love and he has the best husbands and wives for his single children. Trust him to make the Match.
    God bless
    SBB

    • Chinyere Benjamin

      Ur testimony is a great one and i am touched by it becos i am 43, still single but reading this has so so much encouraged and lifted me. Thanks, ur testimony shall be permanent and im next in line for the same miracle.

  7. Danielle

    Wow. I am glad that I found this blog. It is certainly easy to be distracted and discouraged in today’s dating world. I am a 26 year old single mother who desires a man of God. I have recently began a closer walk with God, and some of the scriptures can be overwhelming. It’s glad to have some of these scriptures to refer to and renew my strength in Christ. Thank you so much for these scriptures and may each and every one of you be blessed!

  8. Aileen

    I am the newly appointed Director of the Singles Ministry at my church and I am glad I found this blog. I need all the help I can get and I know that the ministry will be blessed as I work hard to pull the vision out and through the singles in my church.

    • felicia

      Hi Aileen I am so glad to read your post as well as everyone else I am over the singles ministry at my church and just didn’t know where to begin I am so encouraged by you all I have recently decided to wait on god and need all the help I can get.
      Thanks everyone for your posts.

  9. His Servant

    Thank you for the scriptures. It gets hard sometimes being single especially when you have been married. I will take these scriptures and learn them so that on my hard days I will have the word to fall back on until God have me in the right place at the right time to meet my husband. God Bless You and continue to keep you is my prayer!!

  10. M&M

    Being single has been a struggle for me being that I went out of order and had two kids before I was married, but God. Im making myself get lost in the word of God so that he can comfort me and give me the strength i need to continue this journey. I love reading the blogs and comments. At least I know Im not alone.

  11. Dana

    Just a note to let you know how much your blog blessed me. I read it probably a year ago and saved it under my favorites. I just opened it again today and it still encouraged me! And the funny thing is, two of the scripture verses you mentioned I was just reading today before I read your article again. It is always so great to see how God works! I am 30, and about to turn 31 in a month, and I get discouraged at times, but I do know God will satisfy my desire to be married without settling for less than what I want. Thank you so much for your post…it is still staying under my favorites. I will have to reply on it once my desire comes to pass. I know the day is coming :)

  12. cintabali

    Fantastic! I’m really blessed by your post. I work with singles and your write up is much needed at this time. God will grant you more anointing in Jesus name.

  13. Mari

    Thank u soo much! I am a single mom and it been hard and discouraging too! i feel lonely and am seeking for a great husband and father for my child. Thanks for the scriptures!

  14. Linda

    “If you desire to be married-if in your deepest of hearts you desire a mate- then God will
    fulfill that desire ”

    I like the verse very much. Can you
    tell me which Bible translation you are using?

    Thanks
    Linda

    • Most of the time I use the New King James Version. The scripture doesn’t say “if you desire to be married God will fulfill it…” As if He is a genie in a bottle. Rather He is a benevolent Father and King who gives us every good thing.

      • Linda

        I thought that was a Scripture you were quoting
        And I couldn’t find it in 1 Corinthians 7:2

        I am looking for something in the Word
        Something that God promises for a person
        who wants to get married.

        If you know any please let me know
        Thanks very much for responding
        Linda

      • Linda, What are your reasons for wanting to get married? Many women want a husband because they want to rely on someone else to take care of them, make decisions for them and be their sole support in life. That’s not the right reason to want to marry. Allow God to take care of you, allow the Holy Spirit lead your decisions and allow Him to be your emotional support. Learn how to be a wife. I wanted all those things. Over the years, God had to teach me to trust Him for my financial support, emotional support for my decision making. When I got to the point that I trusted Him enough to choose my husband…well, that’s when I met the Hubs. He’s been an incredible husband. Truth is…if I had gone into marriage expecting all those things from my husband, I would have been disappointed….no one person an be everything in your life except for Jesus Christ. He’s the ONE. When you find Him, He will bring the other one (little one) into your life. God Bless you! C.

  15. Roo

    CBgrace….I just stumbled onto this blog…..really for deliverance and healing re: an “orphan and step-kid spirit” for years has been plaguing me. Anyway, I am recently divorced…..this year….coming out of a 32 year relationship. I really was married to an “unbeliever,” and being free from this oppressive marriage is in some ways a “relief,” but has revealed the GAPING WOUND to my spirit from years of abuse, neglect and rejection. I appreciate your above comments to Linda……it TOTALLY CONFIRMS and “encourages” me that I am on the “right path.” I DO want to be married again someday…..to the “right man,” and I want to enter my next Godly marriage “whole!” I am believing God for another spouse…….after I learn how to be the “right kind of wife” as you say. Thank you so much for your comments that encouraged me today even though they were written some months ago!

    Blessings, Roo

  16. A

    Hi! I am 29 years old with a four year old child. I have completed undergrad and grad school; however, I am still single. I wonder, why hasn’t a man of god found me yet. I am not perfect, but I am loving, responsible, and a provider. I have been praying for a husband for a while now. I get lonely. I haven’t been sexual active for two years now, which is hard. I am trying to hold on and keep the faith, but I wonder, does GOD want me to get married…I keep asking that to myself. With that being said, can you tell me what should I do while waiting…..I truly need some advice. Thank you and continue to stay bless.

    • If you want to marry a man of God, be a woman of God. And be willing to wait for the right one. Reminds me of a scripture in Proverbs that says “in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your path.” When your focus in on God, and you are in relationship with Him, you will hear His voice leading you (not necessarily audible), when you follow Him, you will be in the right place at the right time. Remember, He loves you and wants the very best for you…even better than what you want for yourself.

Leave a Reply

