Blank Canvas

Standard

Many years ago, my sister and brother-in-law, Jen and John, gave me one of those gifts that MasterCard would have to label as “priceless”.   It is a journal.  Not just any journal but a Scully refillable journal.  It was purchased at “The Paper Place” on Lamar, near the original Central Market.  I love that shop; if you ever need beautiful paper “The Paper Place” is the place to go.

Each year, I remove the “old” and replace it with a fresh book.  The beautiful thick cotton ruled pages and the smell of expensive paper remind me that I am blessed.

I try to start a new journal at the beginning of each year.  This year, I forgot to purchase the refill and time just seemed to slip away.  January slipped past.  Last weekend, I finally had time to pop into “The Paper Place” for the refill. 

This week began the task of transferring important information from last years journal into this years.  It has become a ritual for me over the years to transfer key scriptures, key quotes and my vision and mission statements into my new journal; to ponder the success of the past and hope for the impending year.   This days began to slip past and still, I had not worked on this.  Finally, last night I pulled out the old journal and new one and began to evaluate what I wanted to transfer. 

Habakkuk 2:2 says,  “ Write the vision And make it plain on tablets, That he may run who reads it.”  Vision should be written down.  It should be plain and clear; easily understood.  For this reason, I always include my vision statement and mission statement at the beginning of every journal.  In the past, I have transferred quotes and scriptures and prayer lists.

As I pondered what to transfer, I decided on only two things, the mission statement and a quote I picked up somewhere.  This year I want to start with a blank canvas.  I didn’t want to bog down the fresh start of the journal with things of the past.  This year is new; new scriptures, new quotes,  renewed vision, new hope.

By the way, the one quote I did include:  ” No Reserve, No Retreat, No Regret”.

One thought on “Blank Canvas

Leave a Reply

