Decisiveness

Standard

Websters says decisiveness is having the power or quality of deciding; resolute; determined.

But above all, my brethren, do not swear, either by heaven or by earth or with any other oath. But let your “Yes” be “Yes,” and your “No,” “No,” lest you fall into judgment -James 5:12

I’ve often heard this scripture quoted with messages about keeping your word.  It definitely applies.  Recently, I’ve come to think of it in a new way.

This was a recent conversation I had

Me:  “Mrs. So-and-so called and wants to know if you want to work on Tuesday”

Other Person:  “Oh.  Well, I don’t know.  I guess” 

Me (thinking to myself, this is a “yes” or “no” question): “Are you doing anything on Tuesday?”

Other Person:  “No…I just…well, I guess”

Me (not wanting to force anyone to a job they don’t want to do0:  “Do you want to do the job?”

Other Person:  “Okay, I guess I’ll do it”.

As I consider the conversation, I ask myself, “Is this person not committed? Or just indecisive?”  Then I began to consider other conversations with this person.  They are all very similar.  This person had difficulty making decisions.  We need decisiveness.  We need to be “yes” or “no” people.  There are very few grey areas in life; very few fences that can successfully be straddled.  Make a decision and stick by the decision.  If someone asks you a question, look them in the eye and say “yes” or say “no”; stop “guessing” and decide.

 

3 thoughts on “Decisiveness

  1. Suzy Branham

    Maybe they are afraid to hurt your feelings. I know I tend to have trouble telling people “no” or “yes” if I think my answer will hurt ot inconvience them. That is something that I am working on because a lot of times I get stuck doing things that I really didn’t want to do in the first place all because I didn’t have the courage to say no.

  2. Rob Steele

    Robert E. Lee wrote a letter to his son in 1852 which was reprinted in the Confederate Veteran magazine. His advice is still just as valid today as it was in 1852. “You must study to be frank with the world: frankness is the child of honesty and courage,” Lee wrote. “Say just what you mean to do on every occasion and take for granted you mean to do it right. If a friend asks for a favor, you should grant it, if it is reasonable; if not, tell him plainly why you cannot: you will wrong him and wrong yourself by equivocation of any kind…”

    I think General Lee would agree with you that it important to be decisive.

Leave a Reply

