Encouragement Challenge

Standard

This morning I was reading an online newsletter.  The main story was about building self-esteem.  The writer suggested that you write down 10 positive things about yourself.  You may only be able to come up with two.  Ask several close friends to also write down 10 of your strengths and give it to you.  Start a file and save the list given to you by friends.  When you receive words of encouragement from anyone, add them to the file.  Periodically review your file.

While I don’t mind the idea of asking others to write down 10 things about me, I thought wouldn’t it be great if I wrote down 10 positive things (or as many as I could think of) about my friends and send it to them.  Wouldn’t that be encouraging?

If you need encouragement, become an encourager.  God’s universal law of sowing and reaping applies.  If you have a need for something, begin to sow that into the lives of others. 

So readers, I challenge you, this week,  to be an encourager to someone who has made a difference in your life. 

4 thoughts on “Encouragement Challenge

  1. Okay, I wrote my first encouragement today to a friend who I haven’t talked to in quiet a while. I had no problem coming up with 10 items…she is a pretty amazing person.

  2. Great idea! I love it. I think I will write them in a personal note to them. I have been wanting to put a real pen to real paper and encourage some of my dearest, and this is a great way to start. Thanks!

    I encourage you to keep up the great work!

  3. Hi encouragement is such a fantastic gift that we have and can share with others. Check out our website and join as we are looking for active encouragers to join with us and encourage others.

    Julia

  4. Kaitlyn

    That’s a great idea. Perfect to include in letters to old friends I’m trying to keep in touch with since I moved away recently.

    And wow, there’s actually an Encouragement Foundation out there!! Very cool.

Leave a Reply

