Ellie…Welcome to the World

Standard

Judy (my sister for those of you who don’t know her) had her baby girl today.  She had been planning to go to the birthing center in Austin for her delivery but it didn’t work out that way. 

For those of you who love the details, read on. For those of you who just want to see the pictures, scroll down to the bottom of the page.

So Judy called in the morning around 8:30 to let me know her water broke.  She was pretty calm about it.  I spoke to her several times about picking Evan up (he’s staying with us).  I called around 3:30 p.m. when I was finished at work.  I needed to pick up the child safety seat.  No one answered the phone.  So I called my mom.  My mom tells me, she went to drop Evan off at the Sinor’s house (Thank you Sinors for taking care of Evan during all of this) and when she got back to the house, Judy had taken a shower to relax (I think…well, it was one of those things Erica suggested she do to help speed up the process) and she was laying on the floor and could not get up.  Mark and my mom tried to help her but at this point her contractions had rapidly increased.  She went from every 10 minutes to every 1 minute in only a few hours.  Their plan had been to head to Austin when the contractions were at 5 minute intervals.  She had already spoken to her midwife, etc.  Well, Judy requested they call an ambulance.   The 911 operator advised Mark to begin preparing for a “home birth”.  When I phoned my mom, she and Judy were on their way to St. David’s hospital in the ambulance.  (I think my mom enjoyed the adventure of an ambulance ride without having to be the person in pain).   After arriving at the hospital, they examined Judy and advised that she was already dilated 10 centimeters.  She asked for drugs.  They told her, “Too late, this baby is coming now”.  Within 45 minutes she had delivered.

Evan and I later stopped by the house to pick a few things up.  It looked like the rapture had happened.  There was half eaten food sitting on the counter.  Judy’s phone was open and charging on the kitchen bar (lots of phone calls).  Lights weren’t turned out.  They clearly left in a hurry.

Enjoy these pictures!! 

4 thoughts on “Ellie…Welcome to the World

  1. Michelle

    Thank you for the update Casey. What a cute baby girl! Judy looks great having gone through all of that……way to go Judy!

  2. Laddie

    Thanks Casey for the posting the information. I know God had His hand in how it all unfolded. I am thankful for a beautiful daughter with a beautiful little angel she and Mark are entrusted with. I know I’ll do my part to spoil her!

    Pappa

Leave a Reply

