What do you think of you?

Standard

For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.”
Romans 12:3

Yesterday, I was surfing through blogs and I noticed this trend…it is really a trend among Christians.  It is the idea that we are never good enough; we must always strive for perfection.

Earlier this year, I read “Captivating” by Staci and John Eldridge.  They start their book by letting the reader know what it is not about.  For years, I have not read books written for women because it seems like the message is always the same, “You aren’t measuring up and if you will just follow these simple steps you will be perfect”.  I realized years ago, I just can’t be perfect.  Staci and John let their readers know right from the start their book is not about “doing” anything…it is about being who God created you to be; it is about being FREE to be who God created you to be.

My question today is who do you think you are?

The scripture in Romans has always spoken to me…do not think more highly of yourself than you ought to think.  What about thinking more lowly of yourself than you ought to think?  What about the person who always thinks they are un-usable, worthless or unworthy.  What about the people who constantly think they need to change and are constantly working on changing.

How about this, leave the changing to God…if He wants you to change, He will work it out. 

I am not a merciful person.  When I was young, I thought there was something terribly wrong with me as I was surrounded by many other women who were just dripping with mercy.  I have learned to have God’s compassion; to feel God’s heart toward people in times of pain and sorrow.  Still, I am not the one to cry to if you aren’t feeling well or if someone “hurt your feelings”.  My general response will be “Suck it up.  Get over it.  Move forward”. 

I may not be very compassionate but I am a person who sees where things should go and I get things done.  If I am asked to plan and event or get something done (If I am given a mission); I can make it happen.   

Sometimes people who are super compassionate, focus so much on hand holding and taking care of everyone else that they have difficulty getting things moving.  But match them up with someone like me and a healthy balance begins to occur (by the way, Dennis is a very merciful person).   The group can move along and no one gets left behind. 

One quote John Eldridge used in Wild at Heart was(and this may not be precise) “Do not ask what does the world need.  Ask what you are passionate about.  What the world needs is passion”  Stop tyring to be what everyone else needs and be you.

I could focus all my time and energy on trying to be something that does not come naturally to me or I could just be the best me that I can possibly be and let God work on the transforming part.  I can tell you this, I am much more merciful these days than I was when I was 19. 

What do you think of you?  Can you appreciate who God made you to be?  Or are you always focused on being like someone else; some ideal?  Focus on who God says you are; who He designed you to be.  He will work out the details.   Be the best you, you can be.  That is not to “glorify” areas where aren’t measuring up.  

It’s like this…I have a friend who has a vivid imagination.  When he was growing up, he always told the biggest stories.  Kind of cute when a four year old tells you a wild story.  As an adult, the stories were really lies.  When he became a Christian, he had to stop lying.  God created him with this vivid imagination.  God meant it for good…Satan wanted to use it for evil (lying – exaggeration).  That guy prays the biggest prayers.  He has the imagination for it…he thinks BIG!  In Ephesians 3:20 God says that He can do exceedingly abundantly above all that we can think, imagine or ask.  The Kingdom needs people who have BIG imaginations, we need their big ideas and their prayers.  God created him that way on purpose; for His purpose.

How did God create you different?  How have you been thinking of yourself?  Can you appreciate and even celebrate who God made you to be?

2 thoughts on “What do you think of you?

  1. lorawilliams08

    Girl you are right on I just Blogged a little about having self confidence. How the perception of self will affect everything and everyone in our lives.
    I can celebrate who i am because God made me unique.
    My purpose is custom made and only when
    I embrace God and walk in my God given destiny I will feel complete and whole.

    check my blogged out!
    Love ya

  2. sorry i dont take time to read thru but from the given text it can be summed that, me is others arond mi 1st, simple as that and God then comes in and shows your worth and my worth when we fulfil his formula…thinking of other first doesnt mean that you should think of you less or not of any worth, no!…its like ‘love yoh neighbour law”…same love you give others you also apply t yohself…hey i like this blog

Leave a Reply

