My thoughts today…

Standard

Psalm 145

A Praise of David.

 I will extol You, my God, O King;
         And I will bless Your name forever and ever.
 Every day I will bless You,
         And I will praise Your name forever and ever.
 Great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised;
         And His greatness is unsearchable. 
         
 One generation shall praise Your works to another,
         And shall declare Your mighty acts.
 will meditate on the glorious splendor of Your majesty,
         And on Your wondrous works.[b]
 Men shall speak of the might of Your awesome acts,
         And I will declare Your greatness.
 They shall utter the memory of Your great goodness,
         And shall sing of Your righteousness. 
         
 The LORD is gracious and full of compassion,
         Slow to anger and great in mercy.
 The LORD is good to all,
         And His tender mercies are over all His works. 
         
 All Your works shall praise You, O LORD,
         And Your saints shall bless You.
 They shall speak of the glory of Your kingdom,
         And talk of Your power,
 To make known to the sons of men His mighty acts,
         And the glorious majesty of His kingdom.
 Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom,
         And Your dominion endures throughout all generations.[c]
         
 The LORD upholds all who fall,
         And raises up all who are bowed down.
 The eyes of all look expectantly to You,
         And You give them their food in due season.
 You open Your hand
         And satisfy the desire of every living thing. 
         
 The LORD is righteous in all His ways,
         Gracious in all His works.
 The LORD is near to all who call upon Him,
         To all who call upon Him in truth.
 He will fulfill the desire of those who fear Him;
         He also will hear their cry and save them.
 The LORD preserves all who love Him,
         But all the wicked He will destroy.
 My mouth shall speak the praise of the LORD,
         And all flesh shall bless His holy name
         Forever and ever.

This past weekend I attended/spoke at a Kingdom Writer’s (Christian based writing group) event.  Every times I attend one of these events I get motivated to work on my writing.  This time, I kind of motivated myself.  I had forgotten when I was working on the book….I was working.  I had to schedule time to work on it.  It didn’t just happen.  I didn’t sit down for one week and pull the whole thing together.  I wanted it to be what God says about the subject of prayer.  It was work.  I spent many afternoons at the Barnes and Nobel.

One of the book projects I’ve been considering is a devotional in the style of Francis Roberts work.  His writings are from the perspective of God speaking to His people.  I’ve been reading “Come Away My Beloved” for a while and God has spoken to me through Robert’s writings. 

I thought I would start this project by reading through my journals.  When I pray, I often hear God speak to me and I write it down.  I have been doing this for 10 years.  I have 10 journals to read through.  I put them in chronological order and started.  I have rarely read through these journals.  I’ve gone through one or two looking for a note I wrote but I haven’t really read them.  As I read through the first one last night, I realized how much I’ve grown over the years.  My early journal entries were pretty silly.  I’m sure in a few years if I read over my recent entries I will also marvel at the things that I thought were so difficult.

In the early years,  I often prayed for “grace in the Spirit”.  I may revisit that prayer. 

I fasted and prayed about assignments and offices and callings.  This is more clear to me these days although I do not always stay on task.

There were many material things I asked God for (like a computer.  I did eventually buy one).   Now days I do not spend much time praying for things.  There is nothing wrong with asking God for things.  It isn’t my focus these days.

There are many things recorded that I wish I had not wasted my time worrying/praying about.  One year I prayed a lot for a friend who ended up dying a couple of years ago.  I know God was working on him when I was praying but I do not think he ever got things right with God.  That makes me sad.  I feel a little like I gave up.  Some prayers are heart prayers and some prayers are Spirit prayers and we must identify the difference.  Heart prayers are good but Spirit prayers are the ones God answers quickly because He put those prayers in us to pray.

I’m dreading reading through some of my journals.  Because like this Psalm, I’ve fallen so many times.  When we fall, it just makes it easier to bow before Him.  When we bow, He helps us back up.  God is very gracious and kind.  He puts us back where we were so we can continue where we left off.  Rarely does He set us back at the very beginning to start completely over.  Still it is difficult to read through the fallen times.  It hurts to remember the times I have failed Him.  Yet, His faithfulness causes me to say God is good.

(This blog may have had some inspiration from http://pastorrobin.wordpress.com/ pet peeve post )

Leave a Reply

