Commitment

Standard

Yes, I voted last night.  I was very torn over who to vote for.  Obama is a likable man.  The thing is, he support all these things that I am opposed to like abortion, the fairness act, same sex marriage, etc.  However, his actions, his life reflect that of someone who is conservative…he is married to his first wife.  He seems to believe in family. But Oprah has been backing him…and if you read my blog, you know what I think of Oprah. 

obama

In the end I couldn’t vote for someone who supports abortion and same gender marriage.  It has been so long since we had a candidate I wanted to vote FOR rather than voting against what I feel is a greater evil. 

Having said all of this… What now?  How can I get on board and help my country move forward?  As a Christian, what is my responsibility?

This morning I cam accross Thomas Nelson’s blog (yes, the Thomas Nelson – the one the publishing company is named after.  If you don’t know what I am talking about, check out some of the Bibles lying around your house, one of them was surely published by Nelson Publishing).  His blog offered some wisdom for the future.

http://www.michaelhyatt.com/fromwhereisit/2008/11/my-four-commitm.html#more

Today I am publicly making four commitments to President-Elect Barack Obama:

  1. I will pray for him and our country.
  2. I will assume his motives are good, giving him the benefit of the doubt.
  3. I will not speak ill of him, even if I don’t always agree with him.
  4. I will cast off the spirit of cynicism, and be a positive force for good.

God, Please be with our new president.  Please grant him wisdom to lead this country.  Please grant him knowledge and understanding in all areas.  Please help him to be the leader You created him to be.  Please, help us, ever Christian in this United States, to pray effectively and fervently for President Obama.  God, please help our nation to our eyes toward You once again.  In Jesus name, Amen.

3 thoughts on “Commitment

Leave a Reply

