Word for Singles

Standard

As a single man or single woman you should be on guard for the marriages of others.  Guard the marriage of others in the same manner you would guard you own marriage.

When I was single I had several very good friends who were guys. One of my best guy friends married shortly before I did.  That means things had to change.  This guy is like a brother to me.  He’s awesome.  I’ve known him since we were in the same 3rd grade class together.  I think the world of him and his wife is lovely.  Even though I’ve known him forever, even though I consider him a brother, once he married, I no longer spent time with him alone.  It’s not appropriate and it’s would not be respectful of his wife or his marriage. 

As a single woman, I would not spend time alone with a married man.   When I was working with a pastor friend who is married, doors stayed open…and we met at the church or we met with his wife. 

Even if your married friend asks if you want to hang out, you should ask if his/her spouse will joining you.  If a guy friend, who is married asked to hang out with me alone, I would ask him what his wife thinks of it.  I would not agree to hang out alone with him.

Everyone needs friends.  A husband and wife should be each other’s best friend.  Men should have men friends and women should have women friends.  If they are spending time alone with people of the opposite gender then they may already have marriage issues. 

You don’t want to be the reason a marriage breaks up.  Guard the marriage of others as closely as you would guard you own marriage.  You reap what you sow.  If you guard the marriage of others, you demonstrate how serious you take the sanctity of marriage.  One day, someone will guard your marriage as closely.

2 thoughts on “Word for Singles

  1. It is refreshing to hear the pure truth about what the world likes to be Devil’s Advocate toward. I would even say many of the points you made are true for married people as well – a married person should be careful to guard their conduct around another married person. Just because someone is married doesn’t mean they are suddenly ignorant to the flirtation, immodesty and indescretion of another person.

Leave a Reply

