Not “feeling” Christmas

Standard

I haven’t been “feeling” Christmas yet.  I’ve bought some gifts and some decorations but I’m just not “feeling” it yet.  I have even wrapped a few gifts.  Maybe I need a cold front or some apple cider. 

So many people have been “feeling” Christmas since Halloween.  I have a theory about this.  I think that people love the Spirit of Christmas; the peace the love, the kindness, the giving.  I think they want to stretch that Spirit out for as long as possible.  So Christmas has stretched from a week to a month to now almost eight weeks of celebration.  In a way, it’s not a bad thing.  If only everyone would realize what they are really longing for is the Spirit behind Christmas. 

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

I Corinthians 13:4-7

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness, self-control

Galatians 5:22-23

Christmas is really and truly about the nature of Christ; it is about His Spirit – the Holy Spirit.  There is no way around it.  His Spirit is Giving, Kind, full of Peace, it is joyful, gracious  His Spirit is every good thing that defines Christmas. 

My hope is that I “feel” Christmas all year – not just for a month or eight weeks out of the year but every day.  When we do purchase our tree and decorate our house, I want to recognize and acknowledge the Spirit that defines Christmas – the Holy Spirit. I want Christmas to be about Him; what He did, who He is and what He plans on doing.

8 thoughts on “Not “feeling” Christmas

  1. David

    I love this post. I feel every word that you typed here…..

    Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things……

    I better stop here because I would be copying and pasting your entire post. Thank you so much for the words and I have a new blog on rotation. Be blessed.

    David

  2. Unfortunately, what many people experience as the “Spirit of Christmas” is just rampant consumerism and the excitement of having more time off of work. Sad and empty, if you ask me.

    In my understanding, Christmastime is not specifically about a day or even a season, but an attitude and foundational belief.

    To me, Christmas symbolizes the birth of Christ into this world, not as an event that occurred 2,000 years ago, but a daily and hourly event that can occur in each and every one of our lives as we open our heart to Christ.

    Our heart is the manger that we must prepare to receive him. The birth of Christ in the manger of our hearts means that we recognize our unity with him. It is our OWN birth. He transforms our existence into one of spiritual consciousness. From this “base”, we go out into the world “as a messenger of Christ” spreading the message of love, hope, compassion and understanding.

    Christmas is about personal spiritual birth and transformation. It is about recognizing Christ in us, in our hearts. His innocence is protected by the place we have prepared for him – our hearts.

    In Jewish and early Christian philosophy, the heart is the center of man’s being. If we put Christ and the Holy Spirit in the center of our being, we are truly born again and experience the miracle of God’s infinite love.

    It is this we are meant to share in the time symbolized by “Christmastime”.

    If everyone felt this way about “Christmas” then I think the world would be a much better place.

  3. i felt this way last year. so much so, i didnt put the tree up til the 22nd of december. other things factored in – but the bigger reason was, like you, i just didnt “feel” it.

    i think i get discouraged when i see all the fluff this time of year. all the charity. all the do-gooders. NOT that those things are bad – heavens no… but for some it just adds feathers in the caps. i always ask myself…why not all year around? these are all great acts of kindness, love and generosity that should be poured out all the time.

  4. lorawilliams08

    i GUESS WE AS BELIEVERS SHOULD MODEL THE SPIRIT OF CHRISTMAS ALL YEAR. TO SHOW THAT IT’S NOT JUST A SEASONAL EXPERIENCE. IT’S SOMETHING THAT CAN HAPPEN EVERY DAY IN EVERY ONE’S LIFE.

  5. © J. McCarthy

    I stumbled upon your blog reading one of my friends.

    I agree with the last comment about modeling that spirit every day. I truly believe that if you are a Christian, the most effective way to show people Christ’s love is through your actions. Basically you shouldn’t have to go around telling everyone you are a Christian…they should know something is different about you. There should be something radiating from within.

    Good post!

  6. © J. McCarthy

    Thank you! That is my nickname because I always joke about my quest for world domination. lol. I read your bio about training young leaders, mentoring, etc. If you get a chance, could you contact me? I believe when you respond to someones post it provides their email addy.

Leave a Reply

