Speaking of Testimonies…

Standard

I had a good reminder this past week.  While I was in Big Spring for my baby niece’s birth, I had a chance to visit with Esther Whitmore.  For those of you who don’t know Esther, let me give you the skinny.  To begin with, her mother is a spiritual warrior.  That is a great linage to begin with.  Sister Mary epitomizes what a Christian woman should be.  She is kind, gracious, speaks the truth, and always has an encouraging word.  And the apple didn’t fall far from the tree.  Seriously, I love being around these women because you always leave feeling refreshed.  I aspire that my own presences would be considered refreshing.

Ester came up to the hospital to see baby Devri.  At the time she came, the nurses came in to check up on Jenny and asked us all to leave.  Esther walked me out to my vehicle.  I was telling her about a prophetic word Dennis and I received in January from Bishop Tudor Bismark (www.jabula.org) about having children. 

She began to tell me her story.  She and her husband Scott wanted children.  When you meet Esther you know immediately she was designed by God to be a mom.  She has a sweet mom voice.  They had tried for years to have a baby.  The doctor’s reports were not positive.  Throughout the years Esther received prophecy after prophecy that she would have children.  She said after 10 years, her faith was fading.  After 10 years of trying in September of 2000, Esther did get pregnant.  She and Scott were so excited about the pregnancy they had already shared the news with EVERYONE they knew.  This was progress but the pregnancy was not carried to term; she lost that baby.   I cannot imagine the disappointment Ester and Scott must have experienced bot be so close and not see the fruit.  Esther described this time as “very tough” but said that God was so amazing during that time and they both emerged with more faith than they ever had before.  In July of 2001, Esther received another prophecy about having children.  She was said she was so tired.   She told God, “I just can’t get there today, Lord, and I”m sorry. I believe… but help my unbelief”  Two months later she found out she was pregnant with her oldest son, Nathanial.  He was born June 1, 2002.  By that time, Esther and Scott had been married for 15 years.  A few years later, the Whitmores welcomed Nicholas into the world. 

This charge I commit to you, son Timothy, according to the prophecies previously made concerning you, that by them you may wage the good warfare                                                                          I Timothy 1:18

Paul told Timothy that we are to wage a good warfare (that’s prayer!!) with the prophecies spoken over us.

While traveling home from this trip, I listed to several CDs in a series aptly named “Faith Burst”.  Bishop Bismark said reading the testimonies in the Bible and hearing the testimonies of the saints should INCREASE our faith.  If God will do this for Hannah or Ester (Whitmore) than He will certainly do it for me as well.  Most of the time, we disqualify ourselves from the good things God has stored up for us.  It is our unbelief; our lack of faith that slows things down in our lives.

Bishop also said that Faith is the currency of heaven.  God is not moved by need.

Hebrews 11:6
But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

Faith is what moves God.

If you just can’t do it….pray Esther’s prayer, “I just can’t get there today, Lord, and I”m sorry. I believe… but help my unbelief’.”

One thought on “Speaking of Testimonies…

  1. Ester emailed me some of the details of Nathanial’s birth…they are worth sharing.

    From Esther:
    I wanted to share some specifics about Nathaniel’s birth that were really incredible (to us, anyways! lol).

    I had a great pregnancy… felt wonderful, had “the glow”, was happy as could be. I started having blood pressure problems the last 2 weeks of the pregnancy, so the doctor decided to induce me 2 weeks before my due date.

    While I was pregnant, I was nervous about labor/delivery. I prayed about it a lot…. for a couple of reasons.

    1. I wanted to be an example of light, even in the midst of possibly unbearable pain, etc. I wanted to be different than your “Average Jane”. I would tell the Lord, “I want people to see you in me, even in times of pain/stress, whatever. I don’t want to act like a heathen, even in the midst of severe pain.”

    2. I was worried that I would get out of control and cuss in front of my Mom. hah! (And I’m serious about that. lol)

    Anyways – one day while I was praying about the upcoming birth, etc… I just saw a picture flash through my mind – I was sitting in a hospital bed and I had a little 3×5 card with a Scripture printed on it.

    I thought to myself, “wow.. that is a great idea! i will write down some Scriptures on index cards and take them w/me to the hospital. they can be my “focal point” if i feel i’m about to lose control.”

    So I wrote down several promises on index cards and had them in my bag when we went to the hospital.

    Scott and I checked in late on a Friday night, with the induction scheduled for Saturday morning at 7:00 am. I had the monitor on my belly, so we listened to the loud “swish, swish” sound of Nathaniel’s heartbeat all night.

    That night, the nurses gave me some medicine to soften my cervix and prepare for the induction… and it actually got my contractions started.

    Neither of us slept a wink that night.

    In the morning, I was at a 5, I think… and they decided to give me my epidural before they induced me with the pitosin because my b.p. was creeping up up up.

    They put the pitosin in… and everything went south. My contractions were going nuts (thank the LORD i already had my epidural). They had to give me something to try and counteract the pitosin… it was just kinda crazy. Nothing was going like it should.

    Well, we were sitting there (my mom, my friend Mitzi, Scott and I) and a nurse was in the room. We were still listening to Nathaniel’s heartbeat on that belly monitor… when all of a sudden, his heartbeat revved WAY high and then went really slow. It went up to 220, dropped to 60, went up to 180, dropped to 40… and then there was complete silence. For one second, I thought, “That silly monitor is messing up!” and then I looked up at Mitzi… she had a smile frozen on her face and was patting my hand for all she was worth (she’s an ob/gyn nurse) and I thought, “Oh my Lord… we are in trouble here!”

    The nurse literally jumped across that room… started rolling me from side to side, mashing on my belly, trying to get Nathaniel’s hearbeat back. She finally had to literally push his head away from my cervix. When those terrifying few seconds were over and his heartbeat came back, it was still revving up/slowing down.

    (He was getting into distress… and his cord got between his head and my pelvic bone, causing us to lose his heartbeat for a few seconds.)

    The nurse looked at me and said, “oh no, we’re not playing this game today – we’re gonna get you ready for a c-section right now.” the doctor hadn’t even gotten there yet.

    We were all so scared… all crying. I was like “Lord, please don’t take this baby from me… I can’t handle it!”

    And at that moment, the Lord reminded me of those cards in my bag.

    I told Scott, “Go get my cards out of my bag and read some of those verses over me right now!”

    He went and got them… and started in a quiet whisper with tears and a cracking voice, “At what time I am afraid, I will trust in You.”

    The next one, his voice was stronger and more powerful, “The name of the Lord is a strong and might tower. The righteous run into it and THEY ARE SAFE!”

    He went on to read another one… and I’m telling you, the peace of God swept into that room and every bit of fear LEFT!

    20 minutes later, Nathaniel was born completely healthy… even scored 10’s on his APGAR tests (which is unusual for a baby born in distress).

Leave a Reply

