Reflections

Standard

My Aunt commented on one of my previous posts.  She said something to the effect that so much of parenting is seeing a reflection of our relationship with our children as God’s relationship with us.  How right she is…

Tonight, it was getting late and the baby and I were waiting for Dennis to pick us up.  I was trying to rock him to sleep and he was not totally relaxing into it.  I thought about how often God is just trying to rock us into a peaceful state and we are stiff and resistant…fighting it; wearing ourselves out.  When if we would just relax, we would find that sweet peaceful spot. 

I think about how often Nick resist instruction, he resist learning and how he is generally uncooperative.  How often are we like that with our God?  He sees the big picture; He knows our future.  Why do we resist?  We do we believe our limited vision and our limited wisdom can guide us? 

God knows. 

I am not entirely sure I like seeing myself in the baby; My inmaturity, my self-centeredness, my self-indulgence.  I am not liking this at all.  What is reflection I am seeing? 

2 Peter 3:17-18 (New King James Version)

 You therefore, beloved, since you know this beforehand, beware lest you also fall from your own steadfastness, being led away with the error of the wicked;  but grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  To Him be the glory both now and forever. Amen.

One thought on “Reflections

Leave a Reply

