Rainbows, Unicorns and Other Stuff

Standard

Okay, so I am not writing about Unicorns.  Maybe they missed the Ark or something.  It was just a ploy too get you to read my blog.

Lately we have been seeing a lot of rainbows in our area.  It has been rainier than usual.  Several days ago I was driving to church and saw a beauty of a rainbow…bright and double arced.  It was raining and the sun was shining brightly.

Most people know that rainbows are formed when the sun hits the moisture in the air just right.  (We always have to know “why” don’t we?) Most Christians know that the rainbow was a sign of the covenant (promise) God made to Noah that He would never flood the whole earth again. 

Rainbows always turn my mind to covenant.  My thoughts were… In order for rainbow to appear, the Son must shine through the rain.  The brighter, more brilliant rainbows are the result of harder rain.  When we allow the Son (Jesus) to shine in our rainiest times, rainbows appear in our lives; signs of covenant; signs of hope.  It can be seen by all; believer and unbeliever.

Then I began thinking about covenant.  I’ve been participating in a women’s Bible study for the past few weeks.  The Study is Breaking Free by Beth Moore.  (I highly recommend it).  A few days prior to seeing the particular rainbow, I had read a scripture and in that scripture God said, “My covenant”.   My curiosity peaked.  “My covenant”?  God made a covenant with a man; that wasn’t a man promising God or agreeing to “do” anything for God it was God making a promise to a man.  I wondered…how many “covenants” in scripture are God making a promise to man.  And what does that mean for us?

51 times in scripture (according to www.blueletterbible.com) the Bible says, “My covenant”.  God made covenants with men throughout history.  These were promises He made to men.  He did not say “Our covenant”, He said “My covenant”.  They did not require anything of the man.  They were not, “I’ll do this but only if you do this”.  It wasn’t like that.  According to 2 Corinthians 1:20, “For all the promises of God in Him are Yes, and in Him Amen, to the glory of God through us.”  Jesus was the ultimate promise.

My point is this…  God made a promise to a man.  seriously, how incredible is that one statement? GOD (the creator of the entire universe) made a promise to a man (one of His creations formed of dirt).  He didn’t have to do it.  He didn’t have to care.  He was under no obligation.

Even more incredible, because God made a promise to a man, I am able to have a relationship with Him.

He keeps His promises: ALWAYS, no excuses, no “ifs” “ands” or “buts”.  He is faithful to do all that He says He will do. 

It’s all in His book (the Bible).  He even gave us the promise in writing.  And sometimes, He writes it across the sky with water and sunlight.

In the most rainy seasons of our lives, we can allow His Son to shine brightly and we can reflect a rainbow back to Him maybe just to remind Him of His covenant with us.

Leave a Reply

