Thanksgiving 2010

Standard

Normally, I would wait until Thanksgiving to post my Thanksgiving post…but I’ll be busy cooking for the next few days.  The cornbread is made and sitting out (you know, so it can dry out to go into the cornbread stuffing/dressing – what’s the difference?).

Every year, I want to count my blessing and thank God for one more year.  Some years are easier than others.  We have had some ups and downs this year but overall, the blessings out weight what isn’t perfect.

This year, I thank God for experiencing “mommyhood”.   I look forward to when we experience more “permanent” parenthood…although, I think mothering and fathering is more about “who you are” than actual “reproducing”. Anyone can reproduce parenting is a whole other animal.

I am thankful for friends that stick by you even through life changes.  This year, I have experienced more friendships, true friendships, than I have in several years.  Once again, God has reminded me that sometimes true friends come in unexpected packages.  I am thankful for new friends and old friends.  I would name names, but I would leave someone else and risk losing a friend.

I am thankful for the hubs.  He is my BFF (as our young people would say).   He is a lovely, talented, debonair man.  I love him.  

I am thankful for my family.  I am oh, so thankful for their prayers.  Those prayers I so desperately need; those prayers I covet and long for…thank you, mom and dad, sisters, brothers, nieces and nephews.  I am so grateful to God for a praying family a heritage of prayer.  I hear so often of about “spiritual fathers” and I am so thankful that I have a spiritual father in my dad.  My parents are the ones who taught me to prayer.  They instilled in me a heart for God at young age…  There is no substitute for such a legacy.

I am appreciative of all our financial blessings.  God has faithfully provided for us (He always has, but I never want to take it for granted). 

I am thankful for quiet places…for in returning and rest, I shall be saved, in quietness and confidence (in Him) I find strength (Isaiah 30:15).

Leave a Reply

