Pop-over Donuts

Standard

 

The plan was to make donuts and let the kids decorate them…the kids weren’t so interested in helping out.  I took some good pictures though.

Once they were cooked, either roll them in cinnamon and sugar, powdered sugar or a glaze. 

Afer glazing, I sprinkled.

Here is the outcome…

And of course…

So here’s the recipe….I haven’t made these in forever because I don’t fry much.  Although, I did made chicken-fried steak so I guess I’ve been on a fried kick.  As far as I can remember, I got this recipe from my grandma.  I’ve had it forever so I couldn’t tell you forever.

Pop-over Donuts

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

2 T. shortening or butter (I used butter)

1 cup milk

3 1/2 cups flour

4 1/2 t. baking soda

1 t. salt

1 quart oil

In a bowl mix the eggs,  add sugar, shortening, and vanilla.  Beet until well mixed.  Stir in milk and blend in the dry ingredients.  Heat the oil to 370 degrees.  (I actually heated my oil on #7 – between medium and high).  Drop dough into oil in heaping teaspoons (I used my Pampered Chef medium scoop, although I think I would used the small scoop next time…although it would mean making a lot of donuts).  Cook until golden.  They will naturally form into round balls.  If you don’t cook them long enough, the middles will be gooey.  After removing them from the oil, drain onto a paper towel (or 5).  Roll in powdered sugar or cinnamon and sugar.  I made a glaze out of powdered sugar, sugar, butter and milk.  I liked the glaze.

Questions?

One thought on “Pop-over Donuts

Leave a Reply

