Father’s Day this Sunday

Standard

June sneaked up on us.  May flew by.  It must have been the move.  I feel a little bad because I didn’t write a lovely post about my mom on Mother’s day.  She’s a great mom.  She’s having plastic surgery this week…it is absolutely necessary.  Her eyes have been giving her some trouble so they are going to lift her lids.  Since we have all moved out, she has completely lost her interest in cooking but my dad hasn’t lost his interest in eating.  I have to agree with her on some level.  If I didn’t enjoy eating so much, I wouldn’t cook so much.  They’ve been going out to Cracker Barrel to get some home cooking.  My dad has decided that we should trade meals for yard work (he’s really good with yard work…they have the best grass in their neighborhood) and I am going to take him up on it.

The nice thing about having my dad around (close by) is that when we have some problem from car maintenance to relationship maintenance we have some one to talk to (I say “we” because the Hubs often “asks dad” too).  In any case, I stopped by his shop today to drop off some beef stew and a little sample of Chicken Parmesan (homemade) and spoke to him for about 2 minutes.  He didn’t give me any advise….sort of.  He said, go read James and look for the scripture that says, “But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.  Now the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.”  (what’s funny about this too is I too can quote scripture and I am usually 100% accurate about what book the scripture is in, but the “addresses” mess me up…I think it’s a number thing…I am terrible about remembering numbers, they get jumbled.  Dad says he thinks he may have a little dyslexia with numbers).

As I drove away, I teared up a little.   Because, my dad did exactly what I needed…he pointed me to “The Word”.  That’s what I really needed.  The wisdom of men leads to confusion but God’s Word is clear and pure.  When I got home, I looked it up, in context….good stuff the book of James.

God, Thank you so, so much for my dad.  Please Bless him, richly and abundantly!  In Jesus name, Amen

Bless your dad this week!

4 thoughts on “Father’s Day this Sunday

Leave a Reply

