I found it!

Standard

Last week The Boy and I had a “play date” at our friend Candace’s house.  Play date is secret mom talk for “Please come over so I can try to have a conversation with someone over the age of 7.”

Candace are I are both big fans of Beth Moore (click here for info on Beth).  And Beth has a scripture memorization program going on.  From what I gather (mostly from Candace explaining it to me between her Abs coming in to tell her, “Mom, I love you”) you get a notecard holder and choose a scripture every two weeks to memorize.  You can post on Beth’s blog the scripture you choose.  And of course Beth offers a super, cute card holder thingy which we are not buying because we both bought houses in the past two years and we stay at home with our kids and Target is down the street.   When Candace told me about it, I had started a similar project a few years ago and realized I already had a semi-cute notecard book (from Target)….I just had to find it and I knew it was still in a box due to our recent move.

I did find it…

Can you read what it says?

I like that…because in our lives today we say things are “complicated”.  Saying “It’s complicated” is usually just a cop-out for what we should really say which is “I just don’t want to do the ‘right’ or ‘godly’ thing.”  The Word of God may be deep in some ways but most of the time it is “Real Simple”…”Just do it!”.

Apparently, I had already written down some scriptures to memorize.

Here’s a better look.

I didn’t find that scripture by sticking to the “popular” books (like John or Psalms)…that was one I found in a daily reading time.  I love it!  I am in a blood covenant that I didn’t even have to shed any blood for…wow.

Here are the other scriptures already written in my little book (no I haven’t actually memorized them….yet).

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope then you will call upon me, and go and pray to me, and I will listen to you.   And you will seek me and find me, when you search for me with all your heart.  I will be found by you.   -Jeremiah 29:11-14b  (everyone likes Jeremiah 29:11 but you’ve got to read on…there is more for you!)

As for me, I will see Your face in righteousness; I shall be satisfied when I awake in Your likeness.  -Psalm 17:15

Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, long suffering, bearing with one another, and forgiving one another if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do.  But above all these things put on love which is the bond of perfection.  And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful.  -Colossians 3:12-15

Let the Word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord and whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.  -Colossians 3:16-17

You shall weep no more, He will be VERY gracious to you at the sound of your cry;  When He hears it, He will answer you.  And though the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, yet your teachers will not be moved into a corner anymore, But your eyes shall see your teachers. Your ear shall hear a word behind you saying, “This is the way, walk in it.”  Whenever you turn to the right hand or when you turn to the left.  -Isaiah 30:19b-21

I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel; my heart also instructs me in the night seasons.  I have set the Lord always before me; Because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.  Therefore, my heart is glad and my glory rejoices;  My flesh also will rest in hope.  -Psalm 16:7-9

Oh, Love the Lord, all you saints!  For the Lord preserves the faithful.  And fully repays the proud person.  Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart, All you who hope in the Lord. -Psalm 30:23-24

As the deer pants for the water brooks, so pants my soul for You, O God.  My soul thirsts God, for the living God.   When shall I come and appear before God?  My tears have been my food day and night.  While they continually say to me “Where is your God?”  When I remember these things; I pour out my soul within me.  For I used to go with the multitude;  I went with them to the house of God, with the voice of joy and praise, with a multitude that kept a pilgrim feast.  Why are you cast down my soul?  And why are you disquieted within me?  Hope in God!  For I shall yet praise Him for the help of His countenance.  O my God, my soul is cast down within me;  therefore I will remember You from the land of the Jordan and from the heights of Hermon, from the hills of Mizar.  Deep calls unto deep at the noise of your Your water falls.  All your waves and willows have gone over me.  The Lord will command His lovingkindness in the daytime, and in the night His song shall be with me- a prayer to the God of my life.  I will say to God, my Rock;  “Why have You forgotten me?  Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?”  As with the breaking of my bones, my enemies reproach me, while they say to me all day long “Where is your God?”  Why are you cast down O my soul?  And why are you disquieted within me?  HOPE IS IN GOD!  For I shall yet praise Him, the help of my countenance and my God.  -Psalm 42  (that took three cards)

I rise before the dawning of the morning, And cry for help; I hope in Your word.  -Psalm 119:147 (I think I wrote this one down hoping I would rise before dawn…doesn’t happen often).

As for you also, because of the blood of your covenant, I will set your prisoners free from the waterless pit.  Return to the stronghold, You prisoners of hope.  Even today, I declare that I will restore double to you.  -Zechariah 9:11-12

And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulations produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope.  Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us. -Romans 5:3-5

He who has my commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves Me.  And he who loves Me will be loved by My Father and I will love them and manifest Myself to him.  -John 14:21

And the Lord passed before him and proclaimed, “the Lord, the Lord God, merciful and gracious, long-suffering, abounding in goodness and truth, keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving inequity, and transgression and sin, by no means clearing the guilty, visiting the inequity of the fathers upon the children and the children’s children to the third and fourth generation.”  -Exodus 34:6-7  (wrote a note on top….”How God describes Himself”)

I guess there were some more “popular” passages in there after all.

Candace and I would love for you to join us.  Just write a note about what Scripture you will memorize on the blog (I will try to keep up with Ms. Beth and post every two weeks but since it is the 14th I think we could just have an extra day).   If there is a scripture you feel led to memorize, post it as a comment on this blog.

Candace (I know you are reading this), are there any other instruction or tips for memorization?

 

3 thoughts on “I found it!

  1. Candace

    I am so glad you found your book. I love it that you already had little hidden treasures in it:) Lots of good stuff!!

    Okay, so I was totally thinking all morning of doing a fb page about this verse memorization thing. I was thinking we could do a fb group page for all our local people. If you follow Beth’s page she has over 1000 people logging in so it would take a really long time to read everyone’s scripture or have any local accountability on it. I think it would be so very cool to see our very own friends all working together to memorize scripture. The group page’s name will be………..well, I will tell you when I do it:) As far as the rules. It goes like this. You post a verse on the 1st and 15th of each month and try to stay on time (not typing in several days late on a regular basis). You just write your name, city (we probably wouldn’t need to do this unless a lot of people got involved and it would be helpful to any newcomers trying to sort through who’s who), your verse written out, where the verse is, and finally, the translation. You may, if you like, write a small line about why this scripture has meaning to you, but the goal is to keep it short so everyone can quickly take a look at all the verses without having to read a lot of other stuff. But the reason why you like/selected your scripture is totally optional. So mine is this:

    Candace Hendrick, Kyle, TX
    Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant…
    1 Corinthians 13:4 NASB

Leave a Reply

