August 15th Scripture

Standard

Some friends of mine (who are awesome…you know who you are…to  many to name) have formed a scripture memorization group on Facebook.  On the 1st and 15th of every month, we post a scripture to memorize in the next two weeks.  I have been posting a scripture every two weeks and I have been reading it a few times a day but I can’t say that I have totally memorized all my passages, word for word.  (Please don’t be disappointed in me).

This is the passage I chose for this two weeks:

But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, and then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruit, without partiality and without hypocrisy.  Now the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.    James 3:17-18

My dad actually pointed this scripture out to me a few months ago when we were walking through a tough time.  He basically told me I needed to examine someone’s advise for it’s wisdom and he asked me, “Is this person pure, peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruit, without partiality or hypocrisy?  according to James 3?”

No matter what my answer was, I was reminded of one of the key tools in my spiritual toolbox.  When in doubt about any decision, run it by the Word. The answer needs to align with the Word.

If you are really interested in Wisdom, read in James 3…it has some more to say about wisdom that is not from above.  It says, if it isn’t from above then it is demonic.  There is some pretty strong language in there.

One thought on “August 15th Scripture

Leave a Reply

