Prophecy to those Bones

Standard

Good Morning!  Yes, I’ve had some coffee and I’m in the Word and feeling “Peppy”.  This past week, I had coffee with my friend Kim.  (I think I’d like to start a “coffee” ministry….anyone want to join me for coffee on Thursday morning?)  She made the statement she was going to “dig up some old wells”.  This is a phrase I’m not unfamiliar with.  It refers to Isaac going back and re-digging wells that his father and grandfather had originally dug.  I’m not sure why we use it to describe going back to prophecies we have received in our lives and remembering and re-reading them.  My best guess is those prophecies have been “living water” in our lives.   Abraham and Isaac lived in a dry land.  I cannot recall (feel free to correct me because I am going simply on my memory which isn’t perfect by any stretch of the imagination) the Bible mentioning Abraham or Isaac living near water.  The water they used day to day, came from wells that had been dug.  At some point enemies (specifically, Philistines) came in and filled in the wells (jerks!).  Isaac and his servants had to re-dig them.  I hate (such a strong word) the idea that our spiritual lives are so desolate that we must revisit a “past” word but the truth is, that’s how it is at times.   Not to mention, those past words are many times foundational in our lives.  It is appropriate and even necessary to re-visit the foundational truths of our lives.

What does all this have to do with bones? I am revisiting my Old Testament.  I would say overall, I have two favorite books of the Bible, okay three;  Isaiah, Romans and the book of John (gospel of John).  Isaiah was a prophet called to prophecy to his nation.  I liken this to being called as a prophet to the church…not “a church” but the church”.  They didn’t often receive him but he did what he was called to do.  Then the book of Romans; there is so much there; so much to learn from that book.  If we had only one letter from Paul to guide us as a churchRomans would be a good one to have.  I especially love chapters 8 and 12.  (Check them out).  And the book of John, which I have also read repeatedly.  My thinking on this one…John the Beloved became John the Revelator.  In order to obtain great revelation, you must sit with your head resting against your Savior.  John heard Jesus’  heartbeat.  I want to know what John knew; I want to find out how to be “best friends” with my Savior.

How I ended up in Ezekiel…  I have been re-reading Isaiah and kept going.  I like Ezekiel too.  He speaks to a lot of things…by that I mean, He says, “I speak to this mountain…”  Literally, he speaks to objects, nations, lands, etc.  I like speaking to things. (haha).  There are many great words to be gleaned from Ezekiel but as I got to Chapter 37, I started feeling that stirring to prophecy to some things.  At the beginning of the chapter, God brings Ezekiel out of the Spirit into a valley full of bones.  What a bummer.  You are in the Spirit (which always feels great) and God brings you out and you find yourself in a valley full of bones (creepy).    Ezekiel says, “indeed they were very dry”.  They are old, dried up bones.  God asked Ezekiel, “…can these bones live?”  Ezekiel is pretty smart, his answer is, “O Lord God, You know.”    Great answer!  When God asks you a question it is not for His benefit, rather for yours.  Next, God tells Ezekiel, “Prophecy to these bones and say, ‘ O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord!'”  Because even dead things have to obey the Word of the Lord!

As I was reading, God told me to prophecy to some dry bones in my life; some dead dreams; some things that are so dead there is no flesh or sinew left on them.   I am talking about wells that aren’t just buried but they are dry wells; there is no water left in them.

Ezekiel begins to prophecy to those bones and they begin to assemble themselves and sinew and tissue begin to form.  Order and flesh do not equal life.  There must be the breath of God in a thing.   This is when Ezekiel calls forth the four winds to breathe into these that they may live.   The breath of God brings life.  Breathe God!  Breathe!

God tells Ezekiel, that the bones represent His people who have said “our bones are dry, our hope is lost and we ourselves are cut off”.  When our bones are dry, we lose hope and we become cut off…we die.   When we lose hope it is easy to become cut off and die a slow spiritual death.  It’s an unfortunate truth that our hope in God is so often challenged and if we loose hope….lose of hope leads to death.  It is cycle.   When we begin to lose hope, we often cut ourselves off from others; the very people who would speak hope into us and stir up our hope.  When we cut ourselves off from others we become isolated which leads us into more hopelessness and before long we find ourselves dried up, cut off and dying.

God says, ” Behold, O My people” (Oh, I feel the love…He calls us “My people”.  We belong to Him.  He has placed His name upon us.  In Ezekiel 36:21, He said, “I had concern for My holy name”.  In verse 23 He says, “I will sanctify My great name….When I am hallowed in you before their eyes”  He wants others to experience His great name in us and through us and to honor Him because of what they see in us.  He is in us and wants everyone to know!) “I will open your graves and cause you to come up from your graves…”  (Wow, not only did the dream die – a part of who He created us to be – but  we buried it – probably so we wouldn’t have to look at the old dead thing.  But He said He will bring us forth from the grave.  There is no grave deep enough to bury what God has called ALIVE!).

Today is a day to prophecy to those dead dreams and the past prophetic words.

Isaiah 37:14 says it best, “I will put My Spirit in you, and you shall live, and I will place you in your own land.  Then you shall know that I the Lord, have spoken it and performed it.”

When God speaks a word, He will do it!  Do not let go of those prophetic words; those “God dreams”.  Hold on! Prophecy to the bones in your life!

As you read this, something popped into your mind.  Some dream; some hope you have left far behind in your past.  Speak to that thing!  God knows what it is; He brought it your remembrance just now.   Say now, “O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord!  God says, ‘Surely I will cause breath to enter into you and you shall live.  I will put sinews on you and bring flesh upon you and cover you with skin and put breath in you and you shall live!’  Everyone will know that the Lord is my God!”

 

One thought on “Prophecy to those Bones

Leave a Reply

