Death of a Dream

Standard

The past few weeks, I’ve been telling y’all about the Sticky Preaching Class we (the Hubs and I and several of my friends) have been taking.  Of course, life has been super busy.  I had a birthday (it was one of those dreadful “big ones”….let’s leave it at I am unhappy to hit a new decade at my current weight but I am happy to be alive), I attended a conference that I am going to blog about in more detail and on top of all of that I’ve been sick.  Yes, the boy caught a cold and as a result, I’ve had a sinus infection.  There you go.  I am not the type of person who allows things like being sick to stop me from doing thing but I not only was running a fever on the Sunday I was suppose to “sticky preach”, I had also lost my voice.  So I missed it.  I also missed my dear friend Candace’s message which I am regretting more than missing preaching.  I know she was good.  I would like to figure out how I can preach my message and post it here on my blog.

One of the reasons, I am posting this before the conference posts I have in mind is because this message has been simmering in me for weeks and then I take off to the women’s conference which is aptly named, “Live the Dream” and some of the messages fit so perfectly with what has been stirring up in my own Spirit.

Please keep in mind, while reading this post or future posts, I can’t speak for every preacher/speaker type but most of the time the topic or message I speak on is the one God is telling me I need to hear the most.  Studying and speaking on something usually means the speaker has learned something about this themselves.

So here are my notes for my message: Death of a Dream

My husband, Dennis and I have a dream. It is a dream we have carried both separately and together: We want to have children.  The one thing I have for sure known in my life is that I want to have a family.  When we got married, we decided not to wait too long before we started working on the baby project.  In 2009, we found out we were expecting.  The OBGYN asked to see us 8 weeks into the pregnancy but she had no openings so we scheduled our first visit at 11 weeks.  At the visit, they did a standard sonogram and did not find one key thing….the baby’s heartbeat.  Everything else looked good.   They sent me off for test and found that my body was doing what it was suppose to do…my body was fighting for the pregnancy. The doctor recommended we have surgery to remove the non-viable pregnancy.  We prayed…for two weeks and nothing changed.  We had the surgery.  I went to bed and made a plan to not get out of bed for like 3 weeks.  There was no physical reason for me to stay in bed.  I had just decided to embrace the depression and mourn the death of my dream.  It didn’t work.  I have some faith friends, Suzy and James Branham who showed up at our door two days later and told me I had to go out to dinner with them.  (They may or may not have been conspiring with my husband).  Less than 5 months later, we received a phone call from a friend asking us to take in a baby.   We did.  That is our little boy, who we are working toward adopting.  My friend Suzy pointed out to me that if we hadn’t had a miscarriage in September, I would have been “very” pregnant and it is unlikely that we would been able to take a one year old.

Mark 5:21-43

21 Now when Jesus had crossed over again by boat to the other side, a great multitude gathered to Him; and He was by the sea. 22 And behold, one of the rulers of the synagogue came, Jairus by name. And when he saw Him, he fell at His feet 23 and begged Him earnestly, saying, “My little daughter lies at the point of death. Come and lay Your hands on her, that she may be healed, and she will live.” 24 So Jesus went with him, and a great multitude followed Him and thronged Him.
25 Now a certain woman had a flow of blood for twelve years, 26 and had suffered many things from many physicians. She had spent all that she had and was no better, but rather grew worse. 27 When she heard about Jesus, she came behind Him in the crowd and touched His garment. 28 For she said, “If only I may touch His clothes, I shall be made well.”
29 Immediately the fountain of her blood was dried up, and she felt in her body that she was healed of the affliction. 30 And Jesus, immediately knowing in Himself that power had gone out of Him, turned around in the crowd and said, “Who touched My clothes?”
31 But His disciples said to Him, “You see the multitude thronging You, and You say, ‘Who touched Me?’”
32 And He looked around to see her who had done this thing. 33 But the woman, fearing and trembling, knowing what had happened to her, came and fell down before Him and told Him the whole truth. 34 And He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well. Go in peace, and be healed of your affliction.”
35 While He was still speaking, some came from the ruler of the synagogue’s house who said, “Your daughter is dead. Why trouble the Teacher any further?”
36 As soon as Jesus heard the word that was spoken, He said to the ruler of the synagogue, “Do not be afraid; only believe.” 37 And He permitted no one to follow Him except Peter, James, and John the brother of James. 38 Then He came to the house of the ruler of the synagogue, and saw a tumult and those who wept and wailed loudly. 39 When He came in, He said to them, “Why make this commotion and weep? The child is not dead, but sleeping.”
40 And they ridiculed Him. But when He had put them all outside, He took the father and the mother of the child, and those who were with Him, and entered where the child was lying. 41 Then He took the child by the hand, and said to her, “Talitha, cumi,” which is translated, “Little girl, I say to you, arise.” 42 Immediately the girl arose and walked, for she was twelve years of age. And they were overcome with great amazement. 43 But He commanded them strictly that no one should know it, and said that something should be given her to eat.

Now when Jesus had crossed over again by boat to the other side, a great multitude gathered to Him; and He was by the sea. 22 And behold, one of the rulers of the synagogue came, Jairus by name. And when he saw Him, he fell at His feet 23 and begged Him earnestly, saying, “My little daughter lies at the point of death. Come and lay Your hands on her, that she may be healed, and she will live.” 24 So Jesus went with him, and a great multitude followed Him and thronged Him.

35 While He was still speaking, some came from the ruler of the synagogue’s house who said, “Your daughter is dead. Why trouble the Teacher any further?”
36 As soon as Jesus heard the word that was spoken, He said to the ruler of the synagogue, “Do not be afraid; only believe.” 37 And He permitted no one to follow Him except Peter, James, and John the brother of James. 38 Then He came to the house of the ruler of the synagogue, and saw a tumult and those who wept and wailed loudly. 39 When He came in, He said to them, “Why make this commotion and weep? The child is not dead, but sleeping.”
40 And they ridiculed Him. But when He had put them all outside, He took the father and the mother of the child, and those who were with Him, and entered where the child was lying. 41 Then He took the child by the hand, and said to her, “Talitha, cumi,” which is translated, “Little girl, I say to you, arise.” 42 Immediately the girl arose and walked, for she was twelve years of age. And they were overcome with great amazement. 43 But He commanded them strictly that no one should know it, and said that something should be given her to eat.

Mark was not an apostle.  History tells us that he was actually Peter’s interpreter and that most of what he wrote about Jesus, were Peter’s accounts.  This is important because that means, this miracle was actually told by someone who was there for the entire miracle, Peter.

In Jewish culture, children were valued, even female children.  This passage doesn’t say that this was Jairus’ only child but it also doesn’t tell us about any other children either.  There is a chance that this was his only child.

  1. Pray.  Be willing to ask God for your miracle. Jairus went to Jesus and asked for a miracle.  He was aware of the state of his dream…near death. Jairus was a man of prominence.  How do you think me made it through the throngs of people that day? The crowd parted ways to let him through.  There are other accounts of temple leaders meeting with Jesus but they met him under the cover of night.  Jairus had to be pretty desperate for a Word, the Word.  He had to know his daughter was dying.  Matthew’s account of this story, says the Jairus’ daughter was already dead at the time he approached Jesus.
  2. Prepare for interruptions.   On the way to Jarius’ house, another miracle happened and Jesus paused to address it.  You may have to watch others get their dream/prayer answered before you see your own miracle take place.  It is just a delay. Just because you aren’t seeing your dream come to fruition, doesn’t mean the answer isn’t “on the way”.
  3. The Word spoken over your life is more valuable that what anyone else is saying.  Just as they pick back on up their journey to Jarius’ house, a message comes to deliver the news that his daughter is dead.  It’s too late.  You must decide now, at the beginning of your journey who you are going to listen to.  Will you have fath that God is going to do what He says He will do or will you believe the doomsday messengers?  Plan from the beginning to guard the promises God gives you.  Keep believing in Jesus. Jesus told Jairus “Do not be afraid; only believe.” Jesus prophesied to Jairus on the spot.  He spoke hope.  You can rely on the word of the prophet.  Most of the time, in order for God to get the maximum glory, something must die.
  4. Be careful who you let in your house.  Jairus’ house was full of people who had no faith for his miracle.  They mocked Jesus.  They did not believe the words of the prophet and they clearly did not have faith.  Jesus had them put out.  You cannot surround yourself with people who do not believe in you or your dream and think that anything will happen.  Jesus only allowed people of faith in the room.  You chose who comes into your house, into your sacred and intimate places.  You chose who knows about the dream.  Jesus chose Peter, James and John. Jesus hand picked these men.  We all need “faith friends” (those who stir us up; who believe in us and the gifts in us).  Surround yourself with people who speak life and not death.
  5. Your enemies will carry your testimony. I love this. Jesus instructed them not to share the information. I thought about and prayed about why Jesus would do that. There were CROWDS of people there that day. They knew Jarius’ daughter was dead and then she was alive. That news would spread. As I pondered on this, I thought how powerful is it that people who mocked Jesus would now declare His goodness? How incredible is it that we serve a God who says, “People mocked you and attempted to shame you but I will uphold you with my righteous hand.” Many years ago, I received a prophetic word and part of that words said, “You have a friend, even a sister who has questioned why you do what you do. She has even mocked you behind your back. But God says, ‘I am going to prove that what you have been saying is true’.” I felt like the most blessed girl in the world. Jarius and his family wouldn’t need to spread the word…the testimony would spread through the doubters and the mockers and they would eat their words. How many of you know that there are times God requires us to eat our words? At times they are a little bitter. That mob would eat their words every time they told that story; every time they saw that young girl.(I am having issues with my editor….can’t turn off the underline in this section).
  6. Feed the dream.  When the dream comes to life, feed it, sustain it, grow it!  Hold on to it!  You have to feed your dream.  Do not expect everyone around you, even those faith friends to feed your dream.  Read your Bible.  Continue to pray for your dream.

Conclusion

There will come a day in your life when something has died.  What will you do on that day?  Who will you believe? Will you fall apart at the first interruption?   Who will you allow in your house on that day?  Jesus didn’t pick these guys up on His way to this resurrection; He had established relationships with them.  On the day your hope dies, who will you call?  Who will speak life to your dead dream?  You better have some “Faith Friends” on that day!  Ask God to connect you to “faith friends”.  Remember, God is the dreamgiver.  He is the one who gave you the dream in the first place and ultimately He is the one who will “give” you the dream.  He will.  He loves it when we invite Him into your dreams.  He wants to blow you away.  He wants to do so many incredible things in you and through you.   He wants to pull the very best out of you.  His dreams for you are so much bigger than your dreams for you.  Pray!

One thought on “Death of a Dream

Leave a Reply

