Tattoos

Standard

So I posted this on Facebook a few weeks ago and got a few comments.  Everyone liked what Pastor Craig had to say.  I agree with him.   I do not have any tattoos (or piercings for that matter).  It’s not that I think they are “bad” but I don’t want my kids to get tattoos either.   He describes in this video that back in the day people were tattooed to identify the “gods” they worshiped.  In my opinion that is still true  today.

You should never do anything to your body (recreationally) that you cannot do stone cold sober.  In other words, doing these things are painful.  If you have to drink alcohol or do drugs (even prescription) in order to get the tattoo or piercing then probably, you shouldn’t do it.

Many people say they get tattooed to use as “outreach”  Here’s my thought, if, as a Christian, you have to get a tattoo in order to demonstrate that you are a Christian, then you aren’t doing it right…and my that I mean, you aren’t really living out your Christianity. If you are living out your Christianity, people around you will recognize it. Jesus’ disciples didn’t get tattoos to commemorate Jesus or help them “reach” others.  This isn’t to say that I think tattoos are wrong or that you shouldn’t get them.

My other thought about tattooing is really a question.  As Christians, why do we try so hard to be “cool” be the WORLD’s standard or the culture’s standard rather than standing out as being cool because we are fully who God created us to be?  Why do we have to buy into what the world says is cool? (this could apply to so many areas of life). Why are we constantly living to a secular standard rather than living to a “God” standard?

My last thought…  perhaps the only tattoo we should have is the Word of God tattooed upon the tablets of our heart.  That’s where scriptures should be tattooed, not between your shoulder blades or across your backside.

Stand out.  Be an original.  Being original doesn’t require permanently scarring your body…I’m just saying.  😀

I thought that was my final thought, but this is my final, final thought.  If you still want to get a tattoo…go for it.  I’m not your conscience or your Holy Spirit.  But do NOT tell other people, especially young people (under 18 years old) that they should get tattooed.  It’s not your place.  Some families value not getting tattooed and/or not piercing and that’s okay too.  That’s the thing that bugs me more than anything else.  Often, I have felt that people who are into the tattooing or piercing thing,  judge those of us who aren’t as ultra-conservative or not cool or religious or whatever.  You be you and I’ll be me and we will all love Jesus and not judge each other.  But one day, if you tell my kid he or she should get a tattoo or a piercing I will come to your house and cut the tattoos off of you or I will stab you with a knife or rip that nose ring right out…seriously.  😀

2 thoughts on “Tattoos

  1. Laddie Bordovsky

    Casey a good post except the last part : ” You be you and I’ll be me and we will all love Jesus and not judge each other. But one day, if you tell my kid he or she should get a tattoo or a piercing I will come to your house and cut the tattoos off of you or I will stab you with a knife or rip that nose ring right out…seriously.” Christians don’t make those kind of statement even kidding. Love U!

Leave a Reply

