All of Me

Standard

All of Me by Matt Hammitt

I first heard this song, on KLOVE or Air1…I can’t remember which but it moved me to tears.  The story behind the song is moving just on it’s own.  Matt and Sarah Hammitt (Matt Hammitt is in the band Sanctus Real) had a son born with HLHS; a rare heart condition.  You can read about their story here.

The Hubs is without a doubt a Lyricist.  I have always been drawn in by lyrics.  The first time I heard the song, I wept.  Yes, that’s right.  I didn’t weep for Bowen, the Hammitt’s baby son although their story also moves me, I wept for every foster parent that means it.  I wept because the lyrics are so completely applicable to our situation.  We have two beautiful, delightful little infants (yes, they are infants now, no longer newborns….baby boy is almost 10bls now!!) who we are completely in love with…

That’s the thing about fostering, you go into it knowing that you probably will not get to keep every child you foster.  You go into it knowing anything can happen.  But you can’t hold your heart back just because they may not stay with you.

I found myself singing the lyrics to our babies, to our boy…”You have all of me….”

That’s the thing about love, it reality, no matter what, it is all or nothing.  To really be love, you have to be willing to give all of yourself.  When you love God, you have to give your whole heart to Him.  Your family, your spouse, your children….if you love then you give all.

A couple of years ago, we were asked if we would consider adopting a baby who was going to be born with health issues.  It was unclear how severe the issues would be.  I didn’t feel peace about it.  I talked to a friend of mine who has a daughter that she describes as “profoundly disabled”.  Her daughter was born with a rare condition and at the time of her birth she was not expected to live a long life.  She is now 14 years old.  Her family can only be described as phenomenal.  However, when I look at their lives, I’m not sure I could do it.  I don’t know how they do it…

Our baby boy has had some medical issues.  Of course as a matter of privacy, I cannot go into it.  I will say this, when babies are born exposed to certain things, their future medical needs can only be determined as they continue to develop.  Things may seem “normal” now but who knows what the long term effects are.

I was talking to someone the other day, holding baby boy.  He is quiet verbal.  He screams…when he’s upset and when he’s happy.  He’s going to be a loud one.  He loves to sit up on my chest and look me in the eyes and talk and talk.  He’s precious.  As I thought about the baby were asked to consider, that I wasn’t so sure about, I know that I would give all of me for these precious little ones and we would face any issues as they came up.  As I shared this with a friend, that I would take this baby, issues and all, no matter what…I thought, that is just how God does it.  He lets you fall in love and then you find out the cost. He knows that love is powerful.

I was listening to some minister on television this morning.  He was speaking on marriage.  He said in every relationship someone has to be the redeemer.  Someone has to represent Christ.

When you foster, or even parent, you become that redeemer.  No matter the physical condition of your child, parenting requires you to give all.   When you love, you suddenly feel you are good for the fight.  You are.  Mom, dad, you are good for this fight.  Give it your all!

Leave a Reply

