One Good Prayer

Standard

Over a week ago, I wrote a rather profound (I thought) blog and the system ate it.  After entering it all in, I lost it some how.  At the time, I thought maybe I would use it for a an upcoming message this month but I have felt God leading me in another direction with that.  So I am going to try again today because today in my quiet time, I found myself once again meditating upon and praying this particular prayer.

About six weeks ago, the Boy turned four.  Has anyone had a four year old boy?  Did he break you?  I’m pretty sure these kids might break me one day.  I actually, thought it might happen a few weeks ago but I made it home in time for everyone to take a nap.  It was a combination of poop, talking back,  general loudness (everywhere we go) and the sound of my own voice saying the same thing over and over (usually but not limited to “please, use your inside voice”).   I think at times they decide they are going to be disobedient and they repeatedly do the exact opposite of what they have been told or taught.  It’s frustrating.

I began teaching the boy this prayer…I feel strongly that this was Divinely given to me.

Lord, please give me ears to hear, a mind to understand and a heart to obey, my mom and dad and you, Jesus.

Simple but powerful.  Although things may have been improving, we were still having issues.  Some people might be offended by this thought and I will keep this clean…sometime little boys and maybe little girls too (but I think girls are more outright defiant than boys) act like dumb donkeys (see cleaned up version).  They stand their with their little mouths open as if you are speaking Japanese to them.  Or they start doing something that they know they are not allowed to do just because someone new walked into your house or they walked into someone else’s house.

Did I tell y’all about the time I was at Chic-fil-a and he started climbing over the booths and tables?  I asked him, “Do we climb on furniture at home?” He said, “No, ma’am” and then I asked him, “Do we climb on the furniture at Chic-fil-a?” and He said, “Yes, ma’am”.  Then I was all like, “No, no, no, no,  we don’t.  We don’t climb on furniture anywhere”….yet still, I have to remind him every time we go somewhere new not to climb on the furniture.  Bill Cosby was right, it’s like they have some kind of brain damage (See Bill Cosby; Himself).

In any case while attending the Living Proof (Beth Moore) conference, I was praying about training this child up in the right way; the way he should go (Proverbs 22:6).  God is faithful to equip us, especially when we ask Him.  He began to speak to me about getting the Word into the Boy.  We have had major issues with lying.  The way He showed it to me was not teaching him, “You should not lie” (which of course he will learn the 10 commandments eventually) but rather teach him “You shall know the Truth and the truth shall make you free” (John 8:32).   In other words, teach him what he should  do…and don’t focus on what not to do.  Our first scripture is “Do not be wise in your own eyes.  Fear the Lord and flee from evil”. (Proverbs 3:7)  The idea here is to get in his little heart to run away from evil.

At the conference, I felt God speaking to me about this and some other things in my life.   I have issues.  Who doesn’t?  You are lying…please repeat after me, “I shall know the Truth and the truth shall make me free”.  At some point,  I had to go to the bathroom.  Any of y’all ever headed to the bathroom at a women’s conference?  They had even turned the men’s rooms into ladies’ rooms for the event, yet still there was a line.  I did eventually make in to a stall.  As I was getting ready to exit, I felt what I can describe only as a wave of the Holy Spirit….yes, right there in the bathroom.  It was so strong that I almost fell to my knees (but even clean looking bathrooms aren’t clean enough to kneel in…I suppose if an angel of the Lord had appeared it would have been clean enough.  And I felt God say to me, “You need to pray that prayer for yourself.”

Yes, I do.  I need ears to hear Him, a mind to understand Him and a heart to obey Him.  As Graham Cook said once,  Pray to be willing.  Ask God, “God, help me to be willing to be willing”.  Sometimes we are spiritually four years old.  We are walking around thinking we know so much and making decisions based on what we “know”  (being wise in our own eyes) and then we wonder why things turn out how they do.  One of our next verses to learn will be, “In all your ways acknowledge Him and shall direct your paths” (ironically, right before the scripture about being “wise in your own eyes” Proverbs 3:6).

If you have one prayer today, ask God to “give you ears to hear, a mind to understand and a heart to obey Him”.  It will serve you well.   And as the Hubs says, “And read your Bible and Witness” (It’s a good day if you pray, read your Bible and witness).

Leave a Reply

