Line in the Cement

Standard

Who hasn’t heard the term “line in the sand”?  According to tradition (not actual history) William B Travis established the idea of drawing a line in the dirt (there isn’t sand at the Alamo) and he challenged those under his command to cross the line if they were willing to stay and defend the Alamo.  (For all my non-Texan friends, I had to tell the story).  By the way, this story is more legend than history (no one survived the Alamo to tell the story).  However, in Texas, it is taught to school children like the gospel truth.  Later, George Bush (the first one) used it the phrase “line in the sand”  in a speech before the first Gulf War (for specifics of the history, click here).

I’ve never really liked the term “line in the sand”; it’s too mobile.  A line in the sand can be moved.   I’d like to draw a line in the cement, let the cement dry and then make my speech.

People tend to do just that, draw their line in the sand.   “This is the line, I will not cross”  and then when that line becomes a challenge, they simply erase it and draw a less challenging line.

There are some things in our lives that we must stand firm on.  We must decide what our line is and take the step to write it in cement.

I’ll give you an example.  I’m not saying it has NEVER, EVER happened but  I don’t talk badly about my husband and I am not very tolerant of people who do.  He’s the Hubs and I wouldn’t trade him for anyone else.  I didn’t just one day decide this.  This started many years ago when I was single before I ever met him.  I was never one hang out with the man-haters. You know someone came to mind when you heard the term.  When I was single there was always that group of girls who just sat around saying how stupid guys were or dogging them for one reason or another. Usually because they didn’t have a “man”.   It makes my stomach turn a little.  That was my line in the cement.  I wasn’t going to be friends with women who did that…I’m still not.

We all have things  in our lives that we need to “draw a line in the cement” about.  Things like, gossip, complaining, what you watch, what you wear, where you go…

I Corinthians 10:23 says it like this “All things are lawful for me, but not all things are helpful; all things are lawful for me, but not all things edify.”

There are some things that God’s Word allows me to do that aren’t good for me personally.  Or there are some things that aren’t spelled out in the Bible (or are they?) that aren’t edifying.

Okay, here’s a rant that I have…mini skirts.  My belief is if you are over 9 years old, you should not wear a skirt so short that it requires you to wear shorts under it to be modest.  Honestly, do you think someone looking up your skirt says, “Oh darn, I couldn’t see her panties because of those bike shorts.”).  I really don’t see the point in mini-skirts except to attract male atention.  You will attract men and without hesitation I will say the WRONG men.  Not because men who look at women who wear mini-skirts are “bad” men (NEWS FLASH…ALL MEN, young and old, married and single are LOOKING at you for all the wrong reasons).  I do think the Bible spells out guidelines for modesty and NO I’m not Amish or Minonite  (sorry, I’ve been watching TLC again…they have a new show about Amish young people who go to New York on sabbatical).  To all my “single” readers, if you are looking to get married, look for something beyond “looks”.  Just remember, looks change, weight changes and if someone marries you based on looks then that will be the reason they divorce you later.  Good luck with that.    Wow, I’m kind of on a roll today.

Next time you have a decision to make, draw your line in cement not sand and let your “yeses” be “yes” and your “nos” be “no”.

Blessings to you all.

PS.  For those of you keeping track, this blog is less than 75 hits away from hitting the 100,000 mark.

 

Leave a Reply

