Momlog 2014: Puppies and poop

Standard

The boy has been begging us for a puppy.  Yes, I have a toddler and a crawler.  In a temporary complete lapse of judgement and a convenient free (free is never free) puppy, we got this guy

puppy

 

Well, I just spent 10 minutes trying to rotate this picture.  When we got him, we thought he was a boxer mix buy my dad thinks he’s a Rhodesian Ridgeback…which looks like this…

puppy

 

So I can see why he thinks that.

In either case…I am now running a zoo.  The boy, almost 6 years old now, is “in charge” of the dog.  I hope he learns some assertiveness but so far the puppy is running the show.  We take him out often however, he has been sneaking off and pooping in the house.  GROSS!

Last night while we were playing Mexican train, he pooped (for the third or fourth time) in the Hubs’ music room.  He was banned from the upstairs when I found poop in my newly painted baby girls’ room.  The Hubs showed the boy how to pick up and clean up the poop.

Sunday mornings are hectic.  The Hubs leaves super early to setup and play the bass.  So I’m on my own.  I get a text around 8:45 (I need to be out the door by 9:20 if I am going to get to church a bit early) from the Hubs that says I need to have the boy pick up the poop in the music room.  I look and it’s a pretty significant pile. I don’t have time to deal with dog crap on Sunday morning!  (This is an appropriate use of the word crap).

After the Boy ate breakfast I told him to pick up the poop.  I called down (I was getting the girls dressed) and asked him what he was doing.  He said that he was cleaning up the poop.  I asked him how…  He should have taking a plastic grocery bag into the music room and using a paper towel, pick up the poop and put in in the bag.  Well, he was carrying the poop to the big trash can (across the house).  I yelled (sometimes there is yelling) to him to get a grocery bag the way daddy taught him.

When I came down he was rubbing some type of cleaner into the carpet.  I told him to go wash his hands we had to go.

We get loaded up and the drive to church was pretty uneventful.  I was reminding him he needed to use grocery bag, etc.

As we pull into the parking lot he says, “I am going to have to walk on my toes.”  (Every mom knows there is some reason to ask)  So I ask him, “Why do you need to walk on your toes?”  He answered, “Because I stepped in the poop.”  (My eyes almost popped out of my head)  “WHAT??”  You walked in my truck with poop on your feet?”  I checked it out.  There was so poop on the shoe.  I wiped it on the underneath of the running board.

Unfortunately, I forgot to to tell him NOT to put the shoes back into the box with all the other shoes.  He’s breaking me, y’all.  In the past I would have marched up removed those shoes, cleaned out the whole box…but I just couldn’t muster the energy to care.  Just another reason the babies aren’t allowed to chew on shoes.

One thought on “Momlog 2014: Puppies and poop

  1. a few of my thoughts on things you can do to help with this problem. Keep him in the crate until you feed him. Don’t feed in the crate. Feed him outside and make him stay outside until he poops and pees. Don’t leave out the food and water for him to eat at will. Keep him in the crate at night and take him out immediately in the morning to pee and poop. Don’t let him roam the house until he start doing his business outside. You have to take control of the situation, not the boy. The boy is 5 1/2 and has never house broken a dog. He is barley house broken himself ( smile )!!
    Love you bunches,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

