Stop trying to recreate your first Kiss

Standard

This blog probably isn’t about what you think it’s going to be about.

We attended a prayer retreat this weekend and on the way back we were having some deep conversations. I was trying to describe how, as Christians, we often choose certain songs based on how God moved in a season of our life.  Some songs are special to us because that song was playing when we first connected with Him and gave our lives to Jesus….I would have to go way back for that.  

My sister, in the back seat says, “We have to stop trying to recreate our first kiss.”  There was a pause as I processed that, that was exactly what I was trying to say.  Just in case she didn’t come up with it herself, I asked, “Did you just come up with that?  How did you think of that?”  She said, “Well, it’s sort of from the movie, ‘Hitch’.  Hitch tells Kevin James’ character that the first kiss important because it may be her last first kiss.”  

The church does this often…God moves us on a certain song and we add that song to every service for 3 years.  My view of the church is it is organic.  As the body of Christ we should be growing and changing…we’ve had an “ugly” stage and now we need to move on to a “beautiful” stage.  There should be songs that move us in certain seasons but we cannot hold on so tightly to what God did that we miss where He is taking us.

Everyone in the car is a married and we all agreed that there are aspects of our relationship with our husbands that have improved with time.  While the first kiss was sweet and special and earth shattering at the time, we all know our husbands so much more intimately now than we did when they first kissed us.  That saying, “I love you more now than when we got married.”  It may seem trite but it’s true because now I love the real him not the him I thought he was…in other words…now I know him and I love him.  I thought I knew him and loved him, but I didn’t know anything.  It’s true.  If you still love who your spouse is today then you automatically love them more than when you married them because your love is more unconditional.   It’s the same with Jesus.  You think you know Him at that first kiss but you have no idea.  And if you are busy recreating the first kiss you are going to miss all the great things He wants to show you now.  

Isaiah 43:18 says it like this, “

“Do not remember the former things,
Nor consider the things of old.
19 Behold, I will do a new thing,
Now it shall spring forth;
Shall you not know it?
I will even make a road in the wilderness
And rivers in the desert.”

Thinking about this scripture it makes me think of wells.  In Genesis 26, Isaac redug the wells that his father, Abraham, had dug.  The enemy had filled those wells up with earth (dirt).  There may be a time for redigging wells but then in Deuteronomy 6:11, God promised His people wells they didn’t dig.  And then in Isaiah, rivers in the desert.  Why are you redigging when you should be looking for some wells you didn’t dig or some rivers in your desert season?  

We have to stop returning the last place we felt God move…He isn’t there any more.  I recently had a word from God and He told me, “I’ve been with you all the time.  It’s not about going back to where you last heard me.  It’s about making contact here and now.”

It’s not about the first kiss.  With God, it truly gets better and better.  

 

3 thoughts on “Stop trying to recreate your first Kiss

  1. This so spoke to me had to double check the title. I’ve just come to comment and noticed the date 17th August. This was the date I gave my life to the LORD Jesus but it was in 1987. I shall be thinking on this for sometime. God Bless you great post ! xx

Leave a Reply

