Importance of Believing the Best about God

Standard

In our church planting quest, we have been visiting churches around our region.  It’s been interesting.  To be honest, it’s not my favorite part of the church planting activities.  I like to be settled and planted…not to be confused with “settled down”. I like a plan.  Every new church means adjusting to what they are doing.

Yesterday we visited Real Life Church. The Hubs loved it. It’s a solid church with good Word.  The message was solid and every point was Biblical and scripture was provided.  (Big high five to pastor Micah Davidson…seriously, when you visit a lot of churches you start noticing things like when the pastor doesn’t use a scripture in his message until 10 minutes into it.)

In any case, he was speaking on the end times. I didn’t really notice that was the topic because he wasn’t using scare tactics. Here’s the thing, they gave us a sheet of paper with the bulletin that had blanks to fill in and I get very focused on filling blanks in…it’s the rule follower in me wants to be sure to fill them in correctly; I don’t want to miss anything.

He posed the question “Are you looking forward to the end?” and then went on to describe that Jesus is preparing a place for us.

Earlier this summer, the Hubs took off for a week and headed to Alabama to attend an ARC event on church planting.  The Hubs only takes off work for a day here or there or maybe two days at the most…why?  because he is paid based on commission and when he is out for say a week, it effects his next four paychecks.  Why?  because they schedule out their sales and things get rescheduled and it’s just the nature of the business he is in.  I cannot think of a time other than our wedding when he took off from work for more than 3 days in a row.  It doesn’t happen because it is a huge sacrifice for our family.

Having said that, we have had at least 3 checks that were small compared to what he normally brings home.

The kids are growing like weeds and I didn’t exactly budget for clothes because we normally have some extra income and I pic up what the kids need.  Both of them had growing spurts recently and with the change of season, they both were in need of clothes. Like most people, we have friends who give us cloths and we give clothes to our friends. But we haven’t been given much recently so I decided to clean out the closets and have a yard sale we would have some spending money to go on a field trip.

Naturally, I have a pile of clothes at the top of my stairs and in my room that need to be removed from the house.  I posted some of the nicer things online in yard sale groups in our area.  I’ve sold a few things.  Saturday morning, was going to be the big day.  I was going to pull the stuff out of the garage and do a yard sale.  My alarm didn’t go off.  Then when I woke up, it was nice and dark in our room.  I didn’t want to get up.  The Hubs said, “It’s raining.”  Rain equals no yard sale…I’m not that hard core.  I didn’t  know if it was good or bad.  I didn’t want to get up but we could use the extra spending money.   Bummer.

I prayed about it later.  I rarely pray about our finances.  We always seem to have enough.  It is not a topic I like to focus my prayers on. It seems self serving since we are so blessed.  I would like a new purse (a Coach crossbody…hey it’s almost my birthday) but really, asking God for a designer purse seems selfish.  What I should be praying for us that we would be completely debt-free.

Having said that, I asked God about it.  I felt Him say, “If you sell all this stuff to get the money, then you did it and not Me.  You aren’t the savior of your family, I am.”.

How often have I tried to be the “savior” of my family or of a friend?  Often.  It’s not my calling in life to “save the day”.

I release myself from having to do solve our problems or figure it out.

I have to believe the best about God.  That He is for us and not against us.  I have to believe that He has the best for us.

Many years ago, I wrote this blog, “What is Your Testimony?” The idea is, we all have a life testimony.  We may have more than one life message.  Over the past three years, as we have gone though seasons of healing and freedom my testimony has changed too.  Yes, I still believe that “God works through our prayers”.  But more importantly, my testimony is “God is good.” At His core, God is good.  He has the our best interest at heart.

Yesterday, Pastor Micah was reading from John 14:1-2, “Don’t let your hearts be troubled.  Trust in God, and trust also in me.  There is more than enough room in my Father’s home.  If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?”  and from I Corinthians 2:9, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love Him.”  He uses the New Living Translation.

The New King James Version  of John 14:1 says it like this, “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.”

Believe.

As the pastor was reading this, I thought, this is why we have to believe that God is good.  It is so important for us to believe that God is good and that He is good to us.  Why?  How can we believe that God has good things for us in eternity if we cannot trust and believe in His goodness for us right now?

We must begin to trust God in our here and now.  Or there is no way we can believe and trust Him with our forever.

This is why we sometimes have trouble in this life…to teach us to trust God.   No,I do not believe God sends trouble our way.  At times He allows it in order for us to turn to Him.  He allows us opportunities to turn to Him; to trust Him.

It’s time for us to be more and more aware of God in our lives. It is time for us to put our trust in Him rather than our finances, our intellect or hard work.  Anything other than God that we put our trust in will be tested.

Think about it…so many people today trust their health to an organic diet or some other special diet.  We believe our jobs or our companies take care of us financially.  We believe that one special person can be “our everything” and will always be there for us.  None of this is TRUTH.

God is good, it is only when we place our trust and faith in other things and other people that we are disappointed.  Those things will not and can not secure our future.  God is our only secure future.

3 thoughts on “Importance of Believing the Best about God

  1. Thank you for being so honest and transparent, I needed to read all of this.

    I thought I was the only one who acted like to “savior” in the family. I’m so relieved to read that I’m not.

    Of all the blogs you’ve written, this one I can relate to the most.

    Keep blogging! When is you new book going to be released??? Just asking

    • JoAnn, Thanks for asking….I’ve been stretched thin lately. I am about 40 pages into writing on the Spirit of Sonship….basically, spiritual orphans and spiritual stepsons and becoming a true son.

Leave a Reply

