Written Epistle

Standard

Epistle:  noun|epis-tle :letter; especially a formal or elegant letter.

I have been defacing a Bible, according to the Hubs.   He calls them “Bible tats”. The Hubs is sure this is some kind of abomination.  He was also taught that he shouldn’t read his Bible in the bathroom….so pray for him.  My brother-in-law says its okay because it’s a NIV bible and that isn’t a “God-endorsed” version.  He is kidding around.  Do not throw away your NIV bible.  What am I talking about?  

Bible journaling.  Type it in on Pinterest…you will find many, many examples.  

I’ve been enjoying it because I have never been a great at drawing but I am finding I am not as bad as I thought.  Plus, I love visuals of scriptures…it helps with memorization. Today I was working on this scripture in 2 Corinthians 3:2.  

  
This is a comination of colored pencils and watercolor.  

As I was putting away my Bible, I had a doodle paper that I slipped between the page.  I forgot it had some white acrylic paint on it.  I wiped the wet paint off quickly but it smeared my ink.  

  
Talk about a visual.

Made me think of how weak our faith is at times.  All the miracles, all the love, all the gifts, everything, smeared; blurred; unreadable. Maybe those are the times we are being re-written.

You may not have noticed but in the first picture I wrote “epistles”.  The scripture actually says “epistle”.  I needed to rewrite it but I thought my ink was permanent.  The spill made it possible to rewrite a mistake.  God gives us that opportunity almost daily.  Reminds me of a message by Pastor John Ragsdale.  He said, “Don’t worry if you fail the test.  God always has a retake test.”.  I’m not sure if that’s comforting or a little scary but it is true.   

There is no shame in your screw up.  You will have another chance to get it right.   

You are our epistle written in our hearts, known and read by all men; clearly you are an epistle of Christ, ministered by us, written not with ink but by the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of flesh, that is, of the heart.   2 Corinthians 3:2-3

Be that elegant letter today.  What a reminder to me today from one of my favorite passages.  God bless you today! 

2 thoughts on “Written Epistle

  1. I agree with your husband not to draw art in your Bible. Use extra paper for the art. I do underline scriptures and write short notes in my Bible, which should be okay for you too. I keep a Bible in the Bathroom, and that is an excellent quiet place to read. So your husband was taught tradition and not commandment in the case of the bathroom. By the way your art is lovely – – just not in your Bible. LOL

    • Just to be clear, this is NOT my study Bible. I have a Thompson that I’m married to…I probable need to replace it as the binding is “iffy” (it’s been taped up with packing tape once already) but I hate the idea of starting over…so many underlines and notes.

Leave a Reply

