Momlog 2016: Career Choices

Standard

Our girl is 3 and 1/2 now and we have acquired another 3 and 1/2 year old (the Niece).   You can imagine the conversations.  As it goes with kids, we sometimes have to ask the Boy (now 8 years old), “What did she say?”

We have family dinner almost every night.  (Little family/marriage advise…when the Hubs and I got married, we would sit down to eat dinner together every night.  My family valued family dinner.  As our family grew, it has been our habit to eat dinner together every night.  No tv.  No toys or books.  No devices.).   This is part of our family time and when we find out about everyone’s day.

I love to ask the Girl questions.  She is a bit of a character and I never know what she might say. She also has an opinion on many things….already.  The Hubs calls her my “mini-me”…usually when she is being difficult.

At dinner, I asked the typical childhood question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”  The Boy answer, “An inventor.”  Then he tells me about some of the things he wants to invent…mostly large weapons.  I plan on living out my final days in luxury (Ironman’s dad was a weapon developer).  The Niece says, “A cooker” (we explain that this is called a chef).  Here is the conversations with the Girl:

Me:  What do you want to do?

TG:  I want to be a “poker”.

Me:  What does a “poker” do?

TG:  They poke bad people.

Me: What do they poke people with?

TG:  A stick.

Me:  Where did you see this?

TG:  In my dream.

Me: what kind of stick is it?

The Boy: is it metal?

TG:  Nope.

Me:  Is it wood?

TG: Yes.

There you have it.  I’m not sure, maybe she just decided to be pool shark?  Maybe the Boy can invent her an iron woman suit with a stick.  She also added that she wants to be an “adventurer”.  We had to ask the Boy what she was saying.  When asked about it, she explained she will go on adventures.   Where does she come up with these ideas? 

Leave a Reply

