Veils

Standard

For we know in part, and we prophesy in part [for our knowledge is fragmentary and incomplete]. 10 But when that which is complete and perfect comes, that which is incomplete and partial will pass away. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child; when I became a man, I did away with childish things. 12 For now [in this time of imperfection] we see in a mirror dimly [a blurred reflection, a riddle, an enigma], but then [when the time of perfection comes we will see reality] face to face. Now I know in part [just in fragments], but then I will know fully, just as I have been fully known [by God].  I Corinthians 13:9-12 (Amplified Bible)

This has been on my heart for several weeks but I haven’t had a chance to write about it until today.

This past few months I have been in small group that did a book study called, “Experiencing Christ Within”.  It is a very good study and I recommend it.  During this study, we explored how we see God and how we can live our lives to bring glory to Him.

At some point in the study, God reminded me of this passage in I Corinthians about how we see in a mirror dimly (is what the NKJV says).  Back when Paul wrote this, there were not many mirrors.  They were rare.  The mirrors they did have were not like the ones we have today.  They were normally small and for lack of a better description, they were dingy.

I have an antique mirror that is about 150 years old.  While it is is cool it is not particularly great for doing things putting on makeup.  To be honest, even the mirror in my bathroom has to be cleaned to get a good reflection.  It has to be cleaned off or the reflection is distorted.

There is a message in all of this about the mirror.  Have you ever used a small hand mirror to see behind you.  It is very hard to get a big picture using a small mirror; you can only see part of what is going on.

Mirrors are not the real thing….seeing in a mirror is only seeing a reflection of what is real.  And it’s backwards…a distorted view.

Isn’t that how it is with God so many times.  We have an idea about who He is.  We have some picture of Him but it is small, distorted and sometimes all backwards.

We often need our perspective of God to experience an adjustment.

As we were studying this passage, God showed it to me like this….

It is as if we are wearing a veil.   Think bridal veil.  Maybe not white. The material is see-through but it’s not clear.  Most of the time, our veil has several layers; layers of experience, layers of misguided or false teachings, layers of religion, layers of pain, layers of sickness, layers of loss, layers of grief.  Each layer, changes how you see God and His kingdom.  As God heals you, a layer is lifted.  You think, “Wow, I see so clearly now!”, even though, you still have more layers.  God  reveals a new truth to you and a layer is lifted.   As each layer lifts you see Him more clearly.  Our part is to seek to see Him more clearly.

Connor-Veiled-Woman

Some veils are different than bridal veils.  Sometimes our veil is like a plastic bag, it distorts our vision and smothers us.  A distorted view of God can suck the life out of you; it can kill you.  Sometimes the enemy hits you so hard and slaps a piece of Suran wrap (plastic wrap from your kitchen) over your face.  First you get the wind knocked out of you then when you go to breath in, you can’t catch your breath; it’s suffocating.  It happens.  Miscarriage, rape, lose of a spouse, loss of a child, lose of a job, lose of a house, church split, loss of a parent, divorce…all of these things can skew your perspective of God and cause you to lose your hope in God.

plastic wrap

When your vision of God is askew you lose hope.  Loss of hope leads to depression, bitterness, suicide…it’s a dark, dark road.

Get your vision adjusted and God gives you hope. A little bit of faith and a dash of hope can change everything.

Sometimes the veils are thicker in some areas of our lives and thinner in other areas.

We can have complete faith in God for our provision but in the area of Him healing, we are veiled.  We believe in God for salvation but the idea of an abundant life is veiled.   We have faith for others but have a veil seeing God’s goodness in our own lives.

It’s time to start taking the veils off.  It’s time to see God in all His goodness and all His glory. It’s time to see Him for how big He is.

Reminds me of the lyrics to a song that P.J. Cooke used to sing at Promiseland in Austin…

“I have made You too small in my eyes….. Be magnified Oh, Lord.  You are highly exalted…”

Bishop Joseph Garlington said in a message I heard, “Magnify the Lord?  How do you do that?  How can you make God any bigger than He is?  You can’t.  You can make Him bigger in your eyes.  You can make Him bigger in your life.”

It’s time to lose some veils. It’s time to adjust your perspective of God and realize how very BIG He is.  He’s a Big, Big God.   When your perspective of God is that He is big and holds the world in His hands, you realize that your problems aren’t all that big.  He’s got this….whatever your “this” is.

Prayer:  God, where I have made you small, please lift the veil off of my vision.  Help me to see how big you are.  Where I have lost hope, please lift the veil.  Please give me hope. Where I have lost faith, God please restore my faith in You.  Please help me to see you clearly.  Help me to put my faith in You.  You are bigger than any problem I have and any problem that could possible come my way.  You are a big-big God.  You are powerful.  Please help me to trust You.  Please heal me and adjust my thoughts to Your thoughts.  Please give me peace.  In Jesus name, Amen.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Veils

Leave a Reply

