Revealing

Standard

Warning…Spoiler Alert for the Wonder Woman movie.  If you haven’t seen it, but you are planning to, then do not read this blog.

I’ve seen the new Wonder Woman movie twice (so far).  I went to see it with some of the women from my church (Woohoo City Chapel ladies!!).  And then I saw it again with the Hubs.  I would watch it again.

I’ve been meaning to write this blog for a while but summer has been busy.  Sometimes a topic will stick with me until I write it.  I had a little “God-moment” (God spoke to me) through this movies.  There is something about superhero movies that stir me spiritually.  The idea of good overcoming evil.… I’m not sure what it is.

Clearly, Wonder Woman has Greek mythology weaved into it’s story.  Having a firm foundation in my belief system (I am a Christian), I would not allow my son (9 years old) to watch this movies…there are some adult themes (I caught some lesbian themes going on)  as well as the mythology and well, although WW is mostly covered there is some scantily dressed women in this one…in any case, I digress.

The movie starts with Diana’s early childhood.  Her mother shows her a sword, and she is told that it is a god killer.  She is told of another “god” called Ares who is the god of war. She is taught that the communities purpose is to protect the earth and humans especially from Ares.

This is the scene….

 

As Diana attempts to strike Ares with her sword, which she believes is a “god killer”, she finds herself weaponless…or so it seems.  Ares tells Diana, “Only a god can kill a god.”  It’s the moment in the film when she realizes who she really is.

My thought was, sometimes you have to come face to face with an enemy to find out who you are.

As a “freedom fighter”, I do not believe the enemy makes us or breaks us.  Our enemy is liar.  We cannot put stock in anything our enemy says about us.  However, it is usually in our darkest hour, during the battle, facing the enemy that we find out who we are, who God is and how strong our faith is.

Jesus told Peter, “Simon, Simon! Indeed, Satan has asked for you, that he may sift you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, that your faith should not fail; and when you have returned to Me, strengthen your brethren.” (Luke 22:31-32).

Many years ago I heard a sermon by Stan Mitchel.  He said, “Sifting does not make, it only reveals what’s there.  The good farmer knows that if you throw up the wheat and chaff in a good 5 to 15 mile per hour wind the wheat will fall to the ground and the the chaff will blow away.   The chaff can withstand some wind and if the wind is too strong, even the wheat will blow away.

As believers we go through life expecting everything to “go our way”.  When difficulties come we say, “I’m being attacked”.

Most Christians either love Job or hate Job…or at very least, think poorly of Job.  God orchestrated Job’s story.  God allowed Job to go through trial.  Yes, the enemy was at work, but God allowed it.

At times, God allows us to go through things.  Why?  Because difficulty reveals our character….both good and bad.  The battle reveals our faith.  And through things reveal to us God’s goodness and His character.

 

If you are going through a trial, if you are in a battle…look around you.  What does this fight reveal about you?  Did God allow this battle to call you back to prayer?  Did God allow this to reveal something in you He wants to heal?  Every trial has a purpose.

Romans says, “All things work together for good.”

Something good will come out of this, no matter how dark it looks.

 

Leave a Reply

